Databases

INSPIRE database funding is provided by the Indiana General Assembly.

Academic Search Premier

Provides over twice as many abstracted and indexed journals (8,144) as well as full-text journals (4,493). Also includes PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references for 1,000 titles; also contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, & more.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
access.NewspaperArchive.com

To access access.NewspaperArchive.com inside the library, please click here.

NewspaperArchive.com is a great newspaper resource for students, researchers, local historians and genealogists. The database includes newspaper articles spanning hundreds of years to current and from all over the world. Terre Haute newspapers are reflected in the Terre Haute Star from April 1, 1949-January 31, 1973, the Terre Haute Tribune from July 1, 1970-June 30, 1971 and the Terre Haute Tribune-Star from July 5, 1970-June 27, 1971. New content is consistently added to the database, and patrons may save and print newspaper articles as they appeared in their original printing.

America the Beautiful
Authoritative information on U.S. states and territories designed for all grade levels. Encyclopedia content updated quarterly; journal information updated weekly, current event information updated weekly during the school year.
AncestryPlus (Only Available Within the Library)
Genealogy research source providing access to 1.2 billion + names, 3,000 + databases, primary source documents and images, and a variety of genealogical research features. Updated frequently. Available only from computers within the Vigo County Public Library and its Branches.
Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound Logo

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
AtoZdatabases (Phone Number Locator)

Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! Updated biweekly, web format and email, print or download Output.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index
An index tool used to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. Also acts as an index to other indexes. Updated twice a year.
Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)

 

Full-text biographical information from a variety of reference sources and magazines. Coverage includes individuals from around the world and throughout history. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. Please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "Subject by Databases", click the database's name to access the database.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students & clinical specialists, provides access to more than 100 full text journals. Topics include such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. Most of the journals covered are available in cover-to-cover PDF.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Business Insights: Global

Business Insights: Global Logo

Globalization is the biggest opportunity and the greatest challenge for today's businesses. Gain the knowledge, insight and perspective necessary to succeed in this increasingly global business world with Business Insights: Global. Business Insights: Global provides business researchers with deep business intelligence powered by the latest statistical data on international business topics; global economics, companies, and industries; and interactive LiveCharts for analysis and custom charts for use in presentations and reports.

Business Source Premier

Full-text for 7,400 + scholarly business journals, 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications, and other sources. Covers virtually all subject areas related to business. Provides full-text for 350 + of the top scholarly journals dating back to 1922. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Career Transitions

Career Transitions Logo

Whether you're just starting your career, changing career paths, or looking for a new one, Career Transitions provides information and resources to help improve your chances of finding your perfect career. Discover your career interests, match your work and military experience with career options in various industries, or find a post-secondary school or training program that's right for you. With Career Transitions guided resume and cover letter creation and interactive practice activities, you'll have the skills, strategies, and confidence you'll need from the start of your career search to your interview.

Chilton's Automotive Repair

ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
Civil War in Words & Deeds
The Civil War was the defining experience in the development of the United States. No event has directly affected a greater proportion of the nation's population: about 10% of Americans fought in the war and more than 700,000 sacrificed their lives. Thousands of regimental histories and personal narratives about the war have been published, but most were never widely distributed. Now, Civil War in Words & Deeds makes available rare, original chronicles of army life in the most devastating conflict in U.S. history for historians and genealogists to find and use.
Consumer Reports Health

Consumer Reports Health offers Consumers Union's rich array of research and recommendations about health care and healthy living on one continuously updated Web site.

Consumer Reports with Cars Best Deals Plus

Consumer Reports with Cars Best Deals Plus includes access to all Used and New Car Price Reports. In addition, Cars Best Deals Plus includes make side-by-side comparisons and the ability to review expert technical reports and print and save your reports for reference.

Corporate ResourceNet
Meets the diverse information needs of today's companies and contains full- text articles from 1,300 + quality magazines and journals.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database..
County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Illinois
Originally compiled and produced by publishers and subscriptions agents for area residents and patrons, the original histories are difficult-to-find materials. Included in County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Illinois are fifteen cities and regions in 361 titles. These titles comprise tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Indiana Hosting
State and especially local history gives students a chance to understand the people, places and things around them with which they’re already familiar. Originally compiled and produced by publishers and subscriptions agents for area residents and patrons, the original histories are difficult-to-find materials. Included in this collection on Indiana are Thirteen cities and regions covered in 262 titles. These titles comprise tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Michigan
Originally compiled and produced by publishers and subscriptions agents for area residents and patrons, the original histories are difficult-to-find materials. Included in County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Michigan are three cities and regions covered in 325 titles. These titles comprise tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.