Databases

INSPIRE database funding is provided by the Indiana General Assembly.

HeritageQuest
Find ancestors and relatives in the complete set of US Federal Census Records 1790-1930, information on people and places described in over 25,000 family and local histories and information about people and places from the PERSI index of 1.6 + million genealogy and local history articles.
Historic Map Works

To access Historic Map Works inside the library, please click this link.

Historic Map Works Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 1.5 million high-resolution, full color historic maps.

History Study Center
History Study Center is a collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Birder's World, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World, and many more.

Home Improvement Collection

Home Improvement Collection Logo

Even the smallest home project can be daunting, but with the Home Improvement Collection, do-it-yourselfers and professional carpenters can put their projects on a solid foundation. The Home Improvement Collection offers more than 200 major titles, with topics ranging from basic home maintenance, decoration, and interior/exterior painting to zoning requirements, project management tips, and tool and material selection.
Home Improvement Reference Center

Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, Home Improvement Reference Center provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering all manner of home improvement/repair projects.

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection Logo

The curious traveler will find a wealth of information for planning their next trip in the Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection, from state parks to tips on planning a vacation. Have instant access to a full library of Fodor's travel guides, information on luxurious resorts, popular tourist attractions, geographic facts, great restaurants, and more. And with access to more than 500 hospitality industry journals, the Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection allows hospitality professionals to study all areas of their industry, from cultural aspects of travel and leisure to the economic impact of tourism and more.
Indianapolis Star (ProQuest)
Daily newspaper from Indianapolis, Indiana. Includes full-text articles from 1991 to present.
Informe! (Revistas en Espanol)

 

Designed to meet the research needs of Spanish speaking users. Provides full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. Please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "Subject by Databases", click the database's name to access the database.

InvestorEdge
Mergent InvestorEdge provides a powerful business research tool, access to the documents and financial information you need for each individual company — incorporating the latest research technology for comprehensive investment research. Look up all corporate documents including annual, industry and equity reports as well as general contact information for each domestic and international company in the Mergent InvestorEdge database.
Kids Search
Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Lands & Peoples
Encyclopedia of countries, cultures, maps, and current events for middle and high school students. Encyclopedia content updated quarterly; and current events updated weekly during the school year.
Legal Forms
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in layman's language.
Literature Resource Center

 

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. New and updated information is added continuously.
LitFinder

 

Includes Poem Finder, Story Finder, Essay/Speech/Play Finder and provides full-text poems, poem citations and poem excerpts, full-text short stories, essays, plays, and speeches.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. Please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "Subject by Databases", click the database's name to access the database.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed for high school libraries, and provides full-text for 600 popular general interest and current event publications with information back to 1975. Also provides 500 + full text pamphlets, 268 full text reference books, 84,606 biographies, 88,463 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
MasterFILE Premier

Designed for public libraries and provides full-text for 2,050 + general reference publications with full-text information back to 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest. Also provides full-text for 350 reference books, 84,606 biographies, 88,463 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection
Includes a 90-day archive of approximately 100 newspapers from the Knight Ridder wire service. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
MEDLINE

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Allows users to search abstracts from 4,600 + current biomedical journals. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Middle Search Plus

Designed for middle and jr. high school research. Provides full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, 84,606 biographies, 88,463 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator and date back to1990. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.