Databases

INSPIRE database funding is provided by the Indiana General Assembly.

Military & Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other resources. Includes cover-to-cover full-text for 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for 500 + titles.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Magazine Archive Logo

National Geographic Magazine is the official journal of the National Geographic Society, one of the world's largest nonprofit educational and scientific organizations. Recognized for some of the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world, this award-winning, iconic magazine is famous for providing unparalleled, in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to 2013, National Geographic Magazine Archive, includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface.

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full-text for 25 national and international newspapers. Also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts and selected full-text for 200 + regional U.S. newspapers. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
NoveList Plus

NovelList Plus contains information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 

Full-text articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, magazine and newspaper articles, and links to websites dealing specifically with social issues. Updated daily.
Philanthropy In/Sight (Only Available Within the Library)
Philanthropy In/Sight® is an interactive mapping tool was designed for grantmakers, policymakers, researchers, academics—virtually anyone interested in the impact of philanthropy around the world today.
Powerspeak Languages

Whether you want to learn a language for personal enrichment, for business, or for traveling abroad, Powerspeak Languages is a breakthrough in learning foreign languages online.
Price It! Antiques & Collectibles

Price It! Logo

Price It! Antiques and Collectibles is the most comprehensive antiques and collectible pricing tool in the world, delivering more than 10 million images& 125 searchable categories.
Primary Search

Primary Search (for elementary school students) provides full text from 57 children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; and full text for over 100 pamphlets.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators and provides a highly specialized collection of 750 + full-text journals, including 350 + peer-reviewed titles. A comprehensive collection of full-text education journals. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Regional Business News

Comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
ResumeMaker
Follow step-by-step guides, view over 1,000 sample resumes, and select from 150,000 powerful, pre-written phrases for nearly every career. Includes a job search function and sample interview questions.
Rosen Teen Health and Wellness

Roseh Teen Health and Wellness Logo

Developed for teens, with their unique concerns and perspective, Teen Health & Wellness draws on Rosen's award-winning series, including Coping, Need to Know, and others. Thoroughly updated and revised for online use, all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.

Science in Context

 

Factual, in-depth yet easy to understand information for all science related questions. Includes full-text coverage of science reference books, science magazines, and websites. Designed for school, public, and community college libraries. All articles are assigned reading level indicators. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. Please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "Subject by Databases", click the database's name to access the database.

Student Research Center

EBSCO's Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type—magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Testing & Education Reference Center

 

Helps users prepare for higher education and the working world by teaming with Peterson's, the most comprehensive and heavily traveled education resource on the Internet, to deliver detailed information on private high schools, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs, searchable by location, major, tuition, sports and more. TERC also features interactive online practice tests for preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. Please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "Subject by Databases", click the database's name to access the database.

TOPICSearch

Current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today¿s classrooms. Contains full-text for 78,000 + articles from 3,000 + diverse sources, including 1,550 + full-text periodicals.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
Tribstar

A community newspaper in Terre Haute, Indiana and surrounding area, including counties of Clay, Greene, Parke, Sullivan, Vermillion, Vigo.

If you are you looking for information about local history, the Terre Haute Tribune-Star Newspaper online archives are available through a searchable database covering the years of 2001-present.

WestLaw (Limited Availability Within the Library; See the Reference Desk for Access)
A legal research resource that provides access to a database of case laws, state and federal statutes, legal forms, and other resources. Available only from limited computers from within the Vigo County Public Library; see the Reference Desk for information on where to access.
What Tree Is It?
Full-color photographs identify trees by leaves, fruit or bark. Includes information on over 170 different trees of the Midwest by both common and Latin names.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.