External Database Access Unavailable: Databases are currently available inside the Main Library and West Branch. External access to some databases is unavailable until further notice. We apologize for the inconvenience.
May 7th, by an act of Congress, approved this day; a separate Territory is set out from the Northwest Territory, called INDIANA TERRITORY.
February 3rd, by an act of Congress, approved this day; a separate Territory, called Illinois Territory, is set out of INDIANA TERRITORY.
Fort Harrison Constructed
October 5th, General William Henry Harrison selected the site for Fort Harrison on the east bank of the Wabash River north of the small Indian village Tare Holt (Terre Haute), Site of Fort Harrison, now occupied by the Terre Haute Elk's Lodge No. 86. Fort Harrison was first commanded by General Harrison and later by Captain Zachary Taylor, both of whom later became presidents of the United States. Construction of Fort Harrison began and was completed later in the month. It was built entirely of logs from trees felled on the site. Some of these logs can now be seen as columns in the Taylor Room of the Elks Lodge.
Attack on Fort Harrison
September 4th, Fort Harrison, occupied by a small garrison of less than 50 men commanded by Captain Zachary Taylor, was attacked by a small band of Indians, who under the guise of friendship, were permitted to camp outside the fort. Around midnight the Indians set fire to the fort and tried to storm in but under the gallant defense by the garrison under Captain Zachary Taylor's leadership, the fire was extinguished and the attackers driven off. The battle played an important part in subduing the Indians in the area.
First Sale of Lots in Terre Haute
October 21 -- The first sale of lots took place in Terre Haute, the lowest lots selling for $60.00; the highest being the lot on the corner of Water and Walnut Street.
Plat of Terre Haute
October 25 -- The official plat for Terre Haute was filed and recorded at Vincennes. the original town contained land now bounded on the north by Eagle street, bounded on the east by 5th street, bounded on the south by Swan street and bounded on the west by Water street.
Vigo County Formed
January 21, 1818 -- Vigo County, including what is now Parke county, was formed by an act of the Legislature at the first state capitol at Corydon, Indiana.
Seat of Justice for Vigo County
March 21, 1818 -- The Commissioners, appointed for that purpose, select Terre Haute as the seat of Justice for Vigo County.
Bids for Building Court House
March 31, 1818 -- Notice was given by the County commissioners that they would accept bids for the building of a Court House of brick and 55 square feet.
First Marriage License
April 4th -- The first marriage license was issued in Vigo County; to William Foster and Elizabeth Wilson.
First Circuit Court Opens
April [the fourth Monday], 1818 -- The first Circuit Court opens in Vigo County; held at the house of Truman Blackman, before Moses Hoggatt and James Barnes, Associate Judges.
First White Male Child Born
May 23 -- The first white male child born in Terre Haute was William Hodges. He died in York, Illinois January 26, 1908.
Ferry Across the Wabash
August 11 -- The County Commissioners grant Salmon Lusk and John Durkee a license to establish a ferry across the Wabash from the west to the east just north of Eagle street at Terre Haute.
October 26 -- The first postoffice established in Terre Haute on what is now the present site occupied now by the Vigo County Jail. Previously the postoffice was at Fort Harrison.
First County Jail
November 10 -- The first County Jail was built on the south alley corner of Swan Street, between First and Second streets.
First Treasurer for Vigo County
March 11 -- Andrew Brooks was appointed the first Treasurer for Vigo County and the rates of taxes were fixed as follows: 1st rate land -- every 100 acres 50 cents; 2nd rate land -- every 100 acres 43 1/2 cents.
First One-Room School House
First log one-room school house built in Terre Haute. C. B. Canfield was the teacher.
Negro Population in Terre Haute
There were 11 Negroes living in Terre Haute. The first to arrive here was Henry Harris, a slave who had been set free by his Quaker master Benjamin Harris in 1809, at Richmond Virginia. He eventually made his way to Terre Haute, the exact time of which is undetermined. In 1850, the Negro population was 227; in 1940, 4,000; in 1960, 4105 and in 1970 4,737.
Great Hardship and Sickness
This year was a time of great hardship and sickness with many of the early settlers and pioneer leaders dying.
First Steamboat Docked at Terre Haute
May 7 -- The first steamboat docked at Terre Haute. It was viewed with wonder and amazement but the subsequent visits of steamers to Terre Haute would give the growing town a foundation for trade and industry. In this year also the Register and Advertiser was mention as the first newspaper in the city.
Pork Packing Business Started
Benjamin Gilman started the pork packing business which was to be one of the principal enterprises in the city for over 100 years.
The Preston House
The Preston House, located at 13 1/2 st. and Poplar, now the oldest home in the city, was built by Major De Wese. Construction began in 1823 and completed in 1826.
United Methodist Temple
Originally founded in 1826 as Asbury Chapel. The land, at 4th and Poplar, was set aside by the city to be given to the first church group to erect a building on it. In 1895, the church built a new building on the northwest corner of 7th and Poplar and was renamed First Methodist Episcopal. Repairs, increased need for parking, and the population shift were the determining factors in the decision to move the church to US 41 south in 1969.
First Drainage System
John Jackson was named the first commissioner to establish a drainage system to reduce stagnant backwaters of creeks and river.
Henry Clay Visits the City
October 28 -- The growing importance of Terre Haute was emphasized when one of the leading politicians of the country, Henry Clay, was feted on a visit to the city.
City of Terre Haute
Terre Haute was incorporated as a town in 1832 by the Indiana General Assembly. The first Mayor was Elijah Tillotson, elected 1838
Church of Jesus Christ Latter-Day Saints
The church of Jesus Christ Latter-Day Saints, commonly known as Mormons, was founded by Joseph Smith in New York on April 6, 1830. Missionaries made their first Terre Haute converts, George and Lucinda Harris, in 1832.
Margaret Phillips may be considered to have founded the Terre Haute branch of the church in 1922 when she requested missionaries be sent and the establishment of a local Sunday School. The first convert after the establishement of the church was Laura Bird, a teen-age girl.
The Mormons remained without a church building until 1958. During those years, a small group would meet in rented lodge halls. Funds for the 20% to be paid by the local unit were acquired through bake sales, bazaars, and the Tiger Ear Project.
A genealogical society was founded about 1930 and held a distinctive place in the Terre Haute church until 1970. Two units, known as wards, were organized in 1982 after a period of membership growth. As of 1999, there are about 700 members of the two congregations.
Vigo County's Coal Industry
Vigo county's coal industry first got under way with river shipment of coal to New Orleans. First coal was in outcroppings along creek and hillsides. Shaft mining was to come some years later.
Methodists built their first church in Terre Haute on the corner of Fourth and Poplar St.
State Bank of Indiana
Branch Bank building of State Bank of Indiana was completed in 1834. It is Terre Haute's oldest business building and is now known as Memorial Hall, directly south of the Courthouse on Ohio St.
Terre Haute First National Bank.
This business was founded in 1834 by Demas Deming. "The ancestors of Terre Haute First National Bank", wrote A.R. Markle in 1939, "furnished the money that built the National Road, the railroads and the canal, that financed the freight of the steamboats from here to New Orleans and the Eastern markets. The building of the streets, the gravel roads of the country, the building and the operating of the old pork-packing houses, the purchase of the salt and barrels, the cooper shops that made the latter for both pork and whiskey and the distilleries and breweries that used the grain, the very bulidings all were financed by these old institutions that were the backbone of commercial activities that helped to make Terre Haute."
Terre Haute First's earliest ancestor came into being in November 1834 as the Terre Haute branch of the State Bank of Indiana. The state was divided into ten banking districts, which included Vigo, Clay, Owen, Putman and Vermillion counties.
The earliest document of record for the bank was a $20,000 bond dated November 13, 1834 and signed by James Farrington, Demas Deming, John D. Early, Chauncey Warren, Curtis Gilbert and Chauncey Rose.
Mount Pleasant United Methodist Church
Mount Pleasant United Methodist Church was founded in 1835 as Spring Hill, but was renamed in the dedication service on the second Sunday of May 1837 by Rev. Thomas Ray. Mt. Pleasant was part of a circuit embracing all of Vigo, and parts of Parke, Clay, and Putnam Counties and within this territory, the Methodists did not own a single frame building. Mt. Pleasant's original structure, acquired about 1836 partly due to the influence of Peter Cartwright in an August 1836 meeting, underwent three renovations, added a parsonage and was replaced in September 1967 at a site five acres north and across the road from the original site by professional mover, Elmer Buchta. A new parsonage was begun in 1977 and Rev. Arthur Collins with his family was the first to reside there. As of 1985 membership was 270 and average attendance was 180 requiring two services.
First Catholic Church
The First Catholic church built of the corner of Fifth and Walnut streets and was named St. Joseph. The present structure is located on the same site.
Allen Chapel, A.M.E. Church
Allen Chapel, A.M.E. church organized by Negroes of the community and a small building was erected on South First Street near Crawford street. Later it was moved to its present location at Third and Crawford streets. The Second Baptist church was organized in 1871 in a small building on South Second street. It is now located at Fourteenth and Oak streets. There are now 22 Negro church in Terre Haute.
E. Bleemel Building
A legacy of beer brewing on Poplar St. at 9th dates back to 1837 and includes the names of Anton Mayer, Earnest Bleemel, and Mathias Mogger. By the time Prohibition became law in 1918, Terre Haute had seen 30 breweries open and close. Terre Haute's first brewery was opened by George Hager in 1835 at Outlet 23, but soon after was destroyed by fire.Chauncey Warren and Demas Deming, Sr. started up the Terre Haute Brewery in 1837 on the north side of Poplar Street. This same site became the home of the Mathias Mogger Brewery and the E. Bleemel Brewery until 1874.The Terre Haute Brewing Company opened in 1889 and leased the E. Bleemel Building and site until 1942. By 1892 the Terre Haute Brewing Company was the country's seventh largest brewer in the country.The Terre Haute Brewing Company Stables which had more than 50 stalls were built during this time of productivity. it's sole purpose was to house draft horses that delivered beer. The Terre Haute Brewing Company introduced "Champagne Velvet Beer" in 1904, with the slogan, "Drink beer. It's good for you." The company closed in 1958.
The E. Bleemel Building and the Stables have been restored and house a museum as well as dining areas.
First Mayor of Terre Haute
Elijah Tillotson was elected the first mayor of Terre Haute.
The National Highway (now U.S. 40) was constructed as far as Terre Haute from Washington, D.C. Later it was pushed on to St. Louis, Missouri.
The Prairie House was built at Seventh on Wabash by Chauncey Rose, one of the town's leading citizens. It was the forerunner of the present Terre Haute House.
Woodlawn Cemetery (formerly City Cemetery) was opened for burials on July 1, 1839. It is located at 1230 N. Third St. with boundaries at Eight Ave. (N), Third St. (E), First Ave. (S), and First St. (W).Bodies were transferred from two earlier cemeteries-the Indian Orchard Burying Ground at the foot of Sycamore St. at the Wabash River and a graveyard which once was located at the southeast corner of Sixth and Ohio Streets.
Woodlawn's north section was designated as St. Joseph Cemetery for Catholic burials and a Hebrew Cemetery was located on the west side.
A tall stone Obelisk is located in the middle of a circular grass area in memory of 11 Confederate soldiers who died in a temporary prison in Terre Haute during the Civil War. In 1973 Mary Grover, assistant city cemetery superintendent, was commended by the U. S. Army National Cemetery Supervising Office for her upkeep of this Civil War Memorial.
Saint Mary of the Woods College
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College was founded in 1840 on the west side of the Wabash River by Blessed Mother Theodore Guerin and five missionaries who came from France to establish schools. It is the nation's oldest Catholic college for women.Saint Mary-of-the-Woods is also home to the Congregation of the Sisters of Providence.
Irishman's Covered Bridge
Irishman's Covered Bridge built over Honey Creek south of the city on road to Lockport (now known as Riley). This structure, the county's only surviving covered bridge, under efforts put forth by the Vigo County Historical Society in cooperation with the Vigo County commissioners has been moved to Fowler park, to preserve it.
First Wagon Bridge Across the Wabash River
December 25 -- First wagon bridge across Wabash river from foot of Ohio street, was opened to traffic.
Callahan & Hughes Funeral Home
Issac Ball founded this business in 1847.
The Erie Canal from Toledo Ohio was completed as far as Terre Haute. It was completed to the Ohio River at Evansville in 1853 and for a short time was a financial success. But the heavy competition from the burgeoning railroad industry resulted in bankruptcy for the Canal company and the State of Indiana, resulting in a new constitution being written which banned issuance of bonds by the State of Indiana.
Terre Haute Council #8, Cryptic Masons, York Rite
The Cryptic Masons, York Rite established Terre Haute Council #8 in 1849. A major activity of the fraternal masonic club is philanthropy for arterial sclerious.
Terre Haute Chapter #11, Royal Arch Masons, York Rite
Terre Haute Chapter #11, Royal Arch Masons, York Rite was established in 1849 and celebrates its 150th milestone in 1999. The fraternal, masonic organization's major philanthropic project is the support of retinal aprothy research.
Lost Creek Baptist Church
Lost Creek Baptist Church was established in 1850 by Reverend Lewis Artis.
Terre Haute, Indianapolis and Richmond Railroad
The Terre Haute, Indianapolis and Richmond railroad was completed, making it one of the oldest railroads in the state. It is now known as the Penn-Central.
City of Terre Haute
The town of Terre Haute, reorganized as the City of Terre Haute. On May 30, William K. Edwards was elected mayor of the city.
South Vigo Congregational Christian Church
The South Vigo Congregational Church was founded February 13, 1854 by eleven members. It is believed that the church was established when the local Presbyterian Church was divided over the slavery issue and those opposed to slavery withdrew. A frame church building was completed in 1858 on land donated by Josiah M. Black. Black also donated the "Black Graveyard" which is now the South Vigo Cemetery.
Eugene V. Debs
November 8 -- Eugene V. Debs born on Fourth st. just north of Chestnut, site of ISU's Arena. Debs is one of the greatest men ever born and reared in Terre Haute and history today is according him more and more recognition as man of far-seeing judgment. He is without question one of the great labor leaders of all-time. He ran five times for the presidency of the United States on the Socialist ticket, 1900, 1904, 1908, 1912 and 1920 --- the 1st time while he was serving a sentence in Atlanta Prison. He was convicted of espionage in connection with his historic speech made at Canton, Ohio on Sunday, June 16, 1918 against the participation of the United States in World War I. He received a million votes in the 1920 election and the man who defeated him, Warren G. Harding, released him from prison on Christmas Day, 1921. The last four years of his life he devoted to reform of prisons and died October 20, 1926. He and his wife are buried in Highland Lawn cemetery. In 1890 the home of Eugene V. Debs, 451 N. 8th street was built and occupied by Mr. And Mrs. Debs. It is now an official historic site of the State of Indiana and also a Notional Registered Landmark of the National Parks System of the Interior Department of the United States.
Paul Dresser Born
April 23 -- Paul Dresser, composer of "On the Banks of the Wabash," the official state song of Indiana and brother of Theodore Dresser world famous novelist, was born. After a notable career in the theater, he died January 30, 1906. He is buried in Chicago.
First Telegraph Line
The first telegraph line was established in Terre Haute.
September 5 -- Camp Vigo located north of the city (on new route U.S. 41) was organized by the Thirty-First Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry under Colonel Charles Cruft to fight on Union side in the Civil War.
Heinl's Flower Shop
"Terre Haute's first florist" was founded in 1863 by John G. Heinl.
Terre Haute Commandery #16, Knights Templar, York Rite
The Knights Templar, York Rite established the Terre Haute Commandery #16 on April 6, 1863. This fraternal, masonic organization contributes to the Eye Foundation, to educational scholarships and is involved with Holy Land Pilgrimage.
Wiley High School
Wiley High School, first known as Terre Haute High School, began classes in the old Hook School beginning in 1863 and moved to Indiana State Normal School in 1869.
A building was constructed for the high school at South Seventh and Walnut streets in 1886. The name was changed from Terre Haute High School to Wiley High School to honor William H. Wiley upon his retirement as Superintendent of the Terre Haute City Schools in 1906.
The school closed in 1971; The Vigo County Public Library now occupies the site with the Wiley High School cupola located on the grounds.
St. Benedict Parish
St. Benedict Parish was organized by a group of German Catholics in 1864 as St. Joseph parish had a large group of German-speaking immigrants who felt cut off from the English parishioners and others who were falling away from their Faith. Under Father Martin Marty, the first meeting for St. Benedict's was held January 17, 1864. The founders were John Burget, Ernest Bluemal, Mark Schoemell, Xavier Hahn, Henry Rotz, George Hoffman, George Goeting, John Leonberg, John Nische, John Kuntz, Mauritz Gasanoke, William Kilz, and Anton Held. These founders created the St. Boniface Building Society to raise funds for the new church, a school and priest's residence. The cornerstone was laid October 2, 1864 and the church itself was completed in 1865. Father Casper Doebbener, a diocesan priest was appointed the first pastor of St. Benedict parish in December 1865. The old building was demolished in 1896 and a larger, more elaborate one erected. The second structure was destroyed by fire July 30, 1930 and the current (as of 1999) one built using standing remains of the old. The current building dates to December 13, 1931, although it does not have the great dome nor the lavish interior of the 1896 version.
Peter J. Ryan
September 19 -- Peter J. Ryan (founder of the P. J. Ryan Funeral Home) was awarded the Congressional medal of honor for bravery in the Civil War in the battle of Winchester.
National Bank of Terre Haute
The National Bank of Terre Haute organized with Preston Hussey being named president.
First Street Railway
The first street railway organized, put in operation in 1867.
Hendrich Title Co.
The Hendrich Title Co. was founded in 1867 by William Hendrich and continues to function as a family corporation. The firm was moved from the Vigo County Courthouse to 498 Ohio St. in 1996.
Terre Haute Savings Bank
Terre Haute Savings Bank was incorporated November 10, 1869. The founding officers were: Thomas Dowling (President), Lucius Ryce and Robert Hudson (Vice Presidents), and John Beach (Secretary/Treasurer).
The first day of business was December 1, 1869. Land at 6th and Ohio was purchased in January 1882. In March 1933 Franklin D. Roosevelt declared a banking holiday from which THSB was among the first to reopen.
A "School Savings" Program to teach the value of saving to children began September 10, 1958. In 1968, the loan department was expanded, computers and 24-hour automatic teller machines and TV teller bays were installed.
The bank continued to operate as usual on July 15, 1972 while the top five floors of its building were being demolished.
The 120th anniversary was celebrated on October 19, 1989. A new section to house the Loan Department and a new Investment Center was added to the building in August 1998.
Adolph Herz Store
Adolph Herz opened his first store on Fourth street. Long one of the outstanding merchants and a man of many charitable deeds, his business prospered. In 1907 he opened one of the finest department stores in the Midwest of Wabash Avenue at Sixth-and-One half street on the north side. Later the business passed out of the Herz family and the last occupant of the building was the Alden Store. The building itself was razed in 1972 and the ground is now part of a parking lot.
The first tax supported school for Negroes was known as Dunbar school on South First street in a one room building.
Indiana State Normal School
January 6 -- Twenty three students entered Indiana State Normal School (now Indiana State University) which opened its doors the first time after being authorized by an act of the General Assembly on December 20, 1865.
Naylor Opera House
Terre Haute's first Opera House, the Naylor Opera House was opened.
First Water Works
The city's first water works, the forerunner of the present Water company, was organized.
September 16 -- Max Ehrmann, Terre Haute's noted poet, born. Ehrmann's fame continues to grow today. His famous Prayer was published in 1903. His Desiderata (1927) has been set to music. He wrote more than 20 books and booklets. And after his death in 1945 his widow, Bertha King Ehrmann published The Journal of Max Ehrmann in 1952. He died in 1945.
Rose Polytechnic Institute
December 12 -- Terre Haute's great engineering college, Rose Polytechnic Institute, (now Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology) was organized by Chauncey Rose, multi-millionaire railroad magnate and the city's largest philanthropist. On land given by Rose, who also gave the money, Rose Poly was constructed on the site at Thirteenth and Locust streets. It soon became one of the outstanding engineering colleges in the country, a position which it occupies today. Before he died on August 13, 1877, Rose had provided for the Rose Orphan's home (25th and Wabash) and the Rose Dispensary building which provided free medicines for the indigents, at Seventh and Cherry streets. The Rose Dispensary building, the original Rose Poly Building and the Rose Orphans Home have all been torn down. On the corner of Seventh and Chestnut streets, the site of Hemingway Park (Rose's Home) there is a solitary sign in the tree row in front of Laboratory School, paying tribute to this great and generous man.
Riley Chapter #22 Order of Eastern Star
The Riley Chapter of Order of Eastern Star was founded in 1874 with charity as its main purpose. Contributions are made to Heart Fund, Cancer, Youth Foundation, Eye Foundation, Scholarship Fund, and Masonic Home for Elderly.
John Martin Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution
The Descendants of the American Revolution founded this organization on July 4, 1876 for male, lineal descendants of an ancestor who was at all times unfailing in loyalty to, and rendered active service in the cause of American Independence. The main purpose of the organization is patriotic, historical, and educational; to promote fellowship through the descendants and to inspire young people.
Brattain & Nattkemper Law Firm
Brattain & Nattkemper Law Firm dates to the opening of a law office at 6th and Main in 1876 by Buena Vista Marshall, who practiced law in Terre Haute until 1929. In 1884, the firm moved to 11 Beach Block. Leonard B. Marshall, B.V.'s son, joined the practice in 1927. In 1938, Howard T. Batman joined the firm which moved to the building at 710 Ohio. David I. Day, Jr. & J. Morton Swango joined the firm in 1949. After 1950, various lawyers practicing with the firm were James A. Ball, Hubert Kelly, Michael R. Ireland, Birch E. Bayh, Jr., until he ran for the United States Senate in 1962, and W. Curtis Brighton until he became Vice President & General Counsel for Hulman & Company in 1994. George A. Brattain joined the firm in 1974. Batman, Day, and Swango died between 1985 and 1990. The firm moved to 322 S. 6th in 1987. C. Don Nattkemper joined the firm in 1991 and David Bolk in 1992. The firm's name changed to Brattain & Nattkemper in March 1999.
Terre Haute Chapter #43 - Order of Eastern Star
Ladies with a masonic background formed the Terre Haute Chapter of the Order of Eastern Star on March 6, 1880. The Order of Eastern Star is a non-profit humanitarian organization open to those over 18 with a masonic affiliation.
Some of the projects taken on by Chapter 43 are collecting of stuffed animals for local children and toiletries for members in Franklin, IN home and hospital. Monies are given to: Masonic home, International Temple Fund, Cancer Fund, Fruit Fund, World of Youth, Nettie Ransford Scholarship Fund, and Knights Templar Eye Foundation.
First telephone installed at Terre Haute in an office at Sixth and Wabash Avenue. The Citizens Telephone Company, a forerunner of the local General Telephone Company was organized.
Family Service Association of the Wabash Valley, Inc.
A not-for-profit counseling agency was founded in 1882 for children and adults. FSA's mission is to "strengthen and preserve family and individual life" through programs of counseling and family life education.
The First health department of the city was organized by Dr. L. J. Williams, with offices at Second and Mulberry streets.
St. Anthony Hospital
St. Anthony Hospital opened at Second and Mulberry under the sponsorship of Herman Hulman, by now one of the leading merchants, not only in Terre Haute but the Midwest. On January 1, 1884, the hospital was moved to its present location at Sixth and College streets. From a small beginning, it is now one of the most modern and efficient hospitals in the area. The Franciscan Sisters were the first operators of the hospital.
Ermisch's Cleaners and Shirt Laundry
Julius Ermisch founded his business in 1883.
Collett Park, located on 21 acres of land at North Seventh St. and Maple Avenue, is the oldest park in Terre Haute. It is named for Josephus Collett who gave the land to the city for use as a park. The land was once a part of the C. Barbour farm. The Collett Pavilion is the city's oldest park structure; the gazebo was added in 1998.
Collett Park was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1981. It is a resource of the Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department, the sponsor of Old Fashioned Days at the park each fall
Highland Lawn Cemetery
The 138-acre site of Highland Lawn Cemetery was purchased on March 13, 1884, from Ray G. and Grace Jenckes at a cost of $15,000. It is located on the North side of U. S. 40 at 4520 Wabash Avenue and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.
The Chapel, designed by architect Jesse Vrydaugh in the Richardsonian Romanesque style, was constructed in 1893 and renovated in 1987-88.
The Bedford limestone bell tower, built in Romanesque Revival style, was built in 1894 and renovated in 1990. The 1909 interurban waiting station now serves as the cemetery office.
Highland Lawn and Woodlawn are municipal cemeteries operated under the board of cemetery regents, an authority proposed by Terre Haute Mayor Vern McMillan in 1943.
Vigo County Courthouse
Ground was broken for the present courthouse of Vigo County.
Terre Haute Masonic Temple
The Terre Haute Masonic Temple, as of 1999, is located on Eighth Street was founded on May 25, 1886. The main purpose of founding was "to form another Masonic Lodge".
Sears, Roebuck and Co.
Richard W. Sears founded the Sears, Roebuck and Company in Fall, 1886. Sears, Roebuck and Co. #2600 is presently located at 3401 S US Hwy 41 in Terre Haute.
The world famous four-cornered race track for harness racing was opened at the Fairgrounds, the site of which is now occupied by ISU Stadium at Brown and Wabash. Nancy Hanks and Axtell established world records which stood for many years.
Electric lighting service for streets and private customers was instituted.
Booker T. Washington School
Booker T. Washington school was opened at 13 1/2 and Dean streets for Negroes in the southeast part of the city. The present Booker T. Washington school was located at Thirteenth and Cruft in 1914. Now all schools of the city and Vigo County are integrated and open to all races without discrimination.
Maple Avenue United Methodist Church
Maple Avenue United Methodist Church began in 1889 when a small group of women met at the home of Miss Clara Hauk for the purpose of starting a Sunday School group. Later this group met in a building at Lafayette Avenue and 13th Street which, according to tradition was an abandoned saloon building. A frame church was built in 1890 and dedicated as the Maple Avenue Protestant Union Church. The actual birthdate of the church was January 24, 1892 when it was rededicated as the Maple Avenue Chapel of the Centenary Methodist Espiscopal Church. Rev. A.T. Briggs, Associate Pastor at Centenary served as the pastor for a congregation which blossomed from 25 members to 80 in one month. At the turn of the century, Rev. E.S. Shumaker, who later worked with the Anti-Saloon League and, in fact "suffered a martyr's death for the Temperance Cause," waged a fight against illegal liquor traffic at Twelve Points. Sunday schools and a mission were founded during this time also. During WWI, large numbers of the men and a few women served the Red Cross and other relief agencies. The church established Boy Scout Troup #4 in 1913, which continued until the 1970's, as well as a drama club, youth groups, study groups, and Bible Study.
The Travelers Protective Association of America
The organization was founded in 1890. Some major activities with which it is involved are child safety, eyeglass collection, and promoting awareness of the hearing impaired.
Union Hospital was opened in a house at Seventh street and Eight Avenue.
Terre Haute Day Nursery Association
The Terre Haute Day Nursery Association began from a suggestion by Superintendent of Rose Orphan's Home Lyman Alden in January 1888 to Mrs. D.W. Minshall, secretary of the Rose Ladies Aid Society that, "We have in view the establishment of a day nursery, where babies and children too young to be left alone could be cared for while their Mothers have gone to work." The association was formed by prominent women members of the Centenary Methodist Church in 1892. The first nursery was located on North Fourth Street and a branch nursery - the Pierce Nursery - opened in 1917 on Eighth Avenue. September 1947 saw the closing of the Pierce Nursery and July 1997, the relocated Day Nursery closed, selling building and property to Head Start. A fund established in 1998 continues to serve area children.
August 15 -- Terre Haute's magnificent Union Depot was opened for rail passengers and patrons. It served the Vandalia railroad (east and west, now the Penn Central; the Chicago and Eastern Illinois (now the L & N); the Terre Haute and Southern Indiana ( now the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul) and branch lines to Peoria and to South Bend. It contained the division offices and had a fine dining room and was patronized by hundreds of persons daily.
Hulman and Company Buildings
September 28 -- The complex of buildings at Ninth and Wabash Avenue known as Hulman and Company was completed and occupied by the wholesale grocery and the city in tribute to this accomplishment held a testimonial dinner for Herman Hulman at which Eugene V. Debs was the principal speaker. Debs as a young man had worked for Mr. Hulman for five years before turning to the organization of rail unions.
Kadel's Hallmark was founded as Kadel's Art Shoppe in 1898 by Robert N.T. Kadel.
The Country Club of Terre Haute
The Terre Haute Golf Club was formed October 3, 1898, six years after the first golfing club was created in New York City. According to official club documents, the name changed in 1900 to the Country Club of Terre Haute. In a 1903 document, the Country Club had 179 active members, 6 associate members and 10 junior members in addition to the 42 Charter Members, some of whom were female, a progressive move for the late 1800s.
Land was purchased in 1918 from the Ijams family in Allendale and a nine hole course and clubhouse were built and finished by 1920. The club experienced a fire on October 5, 1923 which left only the smokestacks standing. A new clubhouse was built by 1924 and another nine holes were added to the course making this the only 18 hole course in Terre Haute. The back nine is the original course and the front is the newer addition designed by Bill Diddle, renowned golf course architect and founding member of the American Society of Golf Course Architects. In addition the club hosted the 1931 and 1950 Indiana Open Golf Championships.
First Church of Christ, Scientist
The First Church of Christ, Scientist was founded in 1898 by Elizabeth Wright, Sarah L. Wright, Emma Reichert, Mr. & Mrs. T.W. Barhydt, Mr. & Mrs. J.O. Dougherty, Mr. & Mrs. Waginals, and James Dishon. The Christian Science Society, as the church was known in 1898, met at the home of Miss Wright until 1902 when meetings were moved to the back room over Paige's Music Store. Various other locations were used until the basement of the church was completed in 1921. In November 1981 the church was destroyed by fire and services were moved to the United Ministries Center until the new church was completed in April 1983.
A Christian Science Reading Room was opened for the use of the public in 1900 and is still in operation today. Semi-annual or annual free public lectures were begun in 1902.
Gideon International was founded on May 31, 1899 by Samuel E. Hill and John H. Nicholson. The Association was formed at a meeting called for July 1, 1899 in the Janesville, Wisconsin Y.M.C.A. at which Nicholson, Hill, and Will J. Knights were present when organization of offices and a formal name were taken. The purpose of the Gideons today is nearly the same as it was in 1899 - "to lead people to Salvation in Jesus Christ." The method by which Christian travelers were to be reached was by leaving a Bible at the reception desks of hotels - later to be placed in each bedroom. The plan to leave a Bible in each room was adopted in Louisville, KY in 1908 and the Ministerial Union voted to financially support the Bible placement program. Thus, the Gideon ministry became the "extended arm" of the church.
Vigo County Rural Route Company No. 1
Terre Haute's first rural mail route, covering 23 miles, was established December 4, 1899. The route, serving 621 people, was carried by Wood McComb in his own horse and buggy. George McComb was the substitute.
Edwards Rural Route No. 1
Edwards Rural Route No.1, now North Terre Haute, was established September 15, 1900.
Terre Haute Rural Route No. 2
September 15, 1900 brought the establishment of Terre Haute's second rural mail route. David M. Solomon was the first carrier on route No. 2 and on the first day of the route carried about 100 pieces of mail.
West Terre Haute Rural Route No. 1
The first delivery for West Terre Haute Rural Route No. 1 occurred on September 15, 1900. The Macksville post office was officially changed to West Terre Haute previous to this delivery on September 22, 1899.
The First Automobile
The first automobile appeared on the streets of Terre Haute in 1900. It also was the first "horseless carriage" to be purchased by a resident of the city. The owner was Mr. McConnell of the McConnell Segar Co. Steam was the motive power; naptha was the fuel.
Thomas Ross Woodburn founded Woodburn Graphics in 1902 and began a tradition of 35 years of innovative type designs and printing techniques that were especially marked in the Roaring Twenties. T.R.'s son, Ross, joined the company in 1921 at the age of 17 and remained until 1976.
Woodburn Graphics survived the Great Depression although it was sold to Ross' uncle, O.W. Pendergast, in 1938. Offset printing, once strictly low budget and low quality, came into a new era after World War II. In 1957 the first purchase of a business forms web press was made and O.W.'s son, Don, joined the company. In the 1970s, digital typesetters, CRTs, and color electronic scanning were major investments. Don replaced Ross in 1976, then was replaced by his wife, Marilyn, upon his death in 1986. "Innovation Guided by Tradition" is Woodburn's equation for success.
Young Women's Christian Association
Early YWCA groups were actually responding to the social concerns created by the industrial revolution. More women were entering the work force and were confronted with the problems of urban life. It has become the world's largest women's membership organization with 400 in the U.S. and is active in 83 countries.
Terre Haute's YWCA was the third to be established in the state of Indiana and it was organized in 1902. This occupied the residence at 664 Ohio St, now known as the "Goodie Shop block."
The Terre Haute YWCA mirroring others throughout the country, provided inexpensive shelter and meals and sponsored social and educational activities for women in the community. The YWCA was incorporated in 1904 for "the improvement of the physical, social, intellectual, and spiritual condition of young women." The current wording (as of 1999) includes "all women and their families.'"
In 1916, YWCA Girl Reserve Clubs for teenage girls were formed with the schools of the city. The reserve clubs were renamed in 1947 as the "Y-Teen Clubs" and the Terre Haute YWCA continues to have more teenage members than any of the 14 YWCAs in the state of Indiana.
The Terre Haute YWCA was the first in the area to integrate its Board, residence and food services in 1948.
In 1975 groundbreaking for the Fairbanks Park location began and was dedicated October 24, 1976. The building was expanded with a full-size gym and pool in 1990 and with an enlarged fitness center in 1999.
St. George Orthodox Church
St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church was founded in 1902 by immigrants from Ein el Charra, southwest of Damascus, Syria. The Terre Haute Parish was established in 1927. The church participates in the city's Annual Ethnic Festival held each September in Fairbanks Park, has a full cycle of litugical services throughout the year, and in August of 1999, sponsored the Summerfest festival in downtown Terre Haute.
First Interurban (Electric Railway) Service
The First Interurban (electric railway) service began out of Terre Haute by the Terre Haute and Eastern Traction Company. Lines went to Indianapolis, Sullivan, Clinton and Paris, Illinois, with "stops" every quarter of a mile or less. This was a convent mode of travel and it flourished until 1924 when the competition from automobiles saw a rapid decline in Interurbans.
Wabash River Improvement Association
The Wabash River Improvement Association formed in an attempt to make the Wabash River navigable again. Railroads had put steamboat service out of business. Since then a number of associations have been formed for this same purpose.
Deming and Rea Schools
Two fine school buildings, Deming School at 16th and 8th Avenue and Rea School at 3rd and 4th Avenue were completed and used by the pupils.
The plumbing and heating business was founded in 1907 by Fred G. Christman, Sr. For a period of time, the business was a partnership with Charles Wissel by the name of Wissel and Christman.
The business was turned over to Fred G. Christman, Jr. in 1953 who operated it as a sole proprietorship for the next thirty-five years.
Forsyth Brothers Concrete Products, Inc.
Forsyth Brothers Concrete Products, Inc was founded in 1907 by Clifford E. and William H. Forsyth as a burial vault company and incorporated in 1911. A third brother entered the business upon Clifford's death and his son, Carl, eventually became the sole owner.
The business, which manufactures Doric burial vaults and septic tanks, is operated by family member, Jeffrey A Bell.
Zorah Shrine Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S.
The Zorah Shrine Temple is the Terre Haute chapter of the Ancient Arabic Nobles of the Mystic Shrine and was founded on June 9, 1909. The Terre Haute chapter's begining dates to Sunday, December 16, 1888 when a group of Murat Temple members residing in Terre Haute met in Asylum of Terre Haute Commandery No. 16 Knights Templar and formed an association known as the Terre Haute Shrine Club. This very active club decided in 1907 to ask the Imperial Council for a Temple in Terre Haute. In 1910 a charter was granted by the Council in New Orleans.
In 1911 Bert Whitmer, Ed Dorsey and Charlie Reynolds attempted setting up a band. Of the members, only one could play a band instrument. Volunteers labored steadily to master instruments and any new member who was a musician was ushered into the band. The first national appearance of the band was in 1919 at which point they were 35 strong.
The Zorah Shrine's major projects are the Shrine Circus benefit for children in Shrine Hospitals and the Crippled and Burned Children's Hospital Committee which makes arrangements to transport area patients to Shrine Hospitals free of charge.
Fort Harrison Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution
The Fort Harrison Chapter of D.A.R. was founded for historic preservation, study of history, education, and patriotic celebrations on April 8, 1909. Its members are women of lineal blood line descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence.
The Hungarian Lodge of Terre Haute
The Hungarian Lodge of Terre Haute is actually named The First Hungarian Working Men's Sick and Death Benevolent Society. This lodge was founded July 30, 1909 by thirty-one members of the Hungarian community of Terre Haute for the purpose of promoting good fellowship and helpful support among its members and to preserve the unique heritage and traditions of Hungarian ancestry. From the original by-laws the purpose was "To financially assist the its sick members, to bury its dead members, to cultivate the spirit of 'Brotherhood', and to preserve and strengthen the Hungarian culture and heritage." Activities of the lodge are monthly meetings and carry-in dinners, two annual dances (Spring Dance in April and Harvest Dance in October), fund-raising events, donations to charities, assistance to members in times of sickness and death, and rental of the Hall facilities for receptions, showers, parties, and dances to both members and non-members. The Hall itself was built in 1922 at 22nd and Linden Streets in Terre Haute.
Pfister & Company, Inc.
J.B. Pfister & Company was formed by J.B. (Ben) and Emma C. Pfister in 1910 for the purpose of selling insurance and real estate. In 1913, they joined with Charles Fox to form Fox & Pfister. (The offices were located at the future site of the Indiana Theater.) A variety of services - insurance, real estate, surety bonds, rentals, and loans were offered.
Pfister & Company, Inc became a charter member of the nationwide Better Homes & Gardens organization in 1978 and is a member of a network of commercial realtors known as New America International.
Many members of the Pfister family have served this company and community throughout the years.
Today, the company is under the direction of a third generation family member, Mary Caye Pfister.
New Hope Community Church of God
New Hope Community Church of God began in 1910 as the First Church of God under the direction of Marion Boatman with thirteen members as a study group. The first church building was rented in 1915, the 1926 building was later destroyed by a 1960 fire, and property was purchased in October 1996 when the name change took place. The church sponors a food pantry ministry, Vacation Bible School, and fellowship activities.
Soldiers and Sailors Monument
May -- The Soldiers and Sailors Monument on the courthouse lawn at 3rd and Wabash was completed.
The plat for Edgewood Grove, Terre Haute's first 20th-century suburban subdivision, was submitted to the board of public works in March, 1911. The land had been known as Deer Park and McKeen Edgewood Stock Farm. Located on the south side of Wabash Avenue and east of Brown Avenue, lots first were advertised for sale in April, 1911.
Johnson Brothers Monoplane
August 8, 1911 A monoplane designed and constructed by Louis, Harry and Julius Johnson at 717 N. 10th St. was flown successfully by Louis at a field on the Elroy Smith farm near Ellsworth (North Terre Haute).
The model of this monoplane, which is known as the first successful American monoplane, was placed in the Smithsonian Institute, Washington, D. C. in 1960.
The four brothers (Louis, Harry, Julius and Clarence) achieved later success in their Johnson Outboard Motors Corp. located in Waukegan, Ill.
Miller Floral Co. Inc.
Miller Floral Co. Inc. was founded as Heinl & Weber by Edgar C. Weber in 1911. The original buildings were located at 1630 Plum Street. These greenhouses were closed in 1983, and the flower shop in 1991. The present store at 3425 S. Seventh St. opened in 1976. James "Mike" Miller, company president, is the third generation in the business
Calvary Cemetery, located on the south side of U. S. 40 at 4427 E. Wabash Ave., was opened in 1912. The land was a gift to the Catholic community from Herman Hulman, Sr.
Great Industrial Corn and Coal Show
The Great Industrial Corn and Coal Show took place in Terre Haute the week of Oct. 28 to Nov. 2, 1912. Sponsored by the Booster Club to promote the area's rich natural resources, it included contests, races, concerts, a 40-foot-high coal monument on Ohio Street and a 60-foot-high ear of corn on Cherry Street.
West Terre Haute Masonic Lodge #687 (F&A.M.)
Lodge #687 was founded by the Grand Lodge of F. & A. M. in 1912. The lodge hosts an annual Fourth of July Members Breakfast honoring George Washington.
The Callahan Funeral Home
Callahan Funeral Home was founded in 1913 at 13 1/2 St. and Wabash Ave. by Thomas and Charlotte Callahan. It relocated to the current (as of 1999)location on Wabash Ave. in 1957.
Rotary Club of Terre Haute
The Rotary Club of Terre Haute is a civic service group which was founded in September 1913. Major activities of the group are the Goodwill Drive, the Rotary-Kiwanis Outing, and Salvation Army Bell Ringing.
Disasters and Political Scandals
March -- A year of disasters and political scandals. On Easter Sunday in March, a tornado swept up the Wabash Valley took off from the river near the site of the present sewage disposal plant, hit the Ijams Warren Park area, swept on into the city at Third and Margaret Avenue angling northwest across the city and lifting in the area of Twenty-Fifth and Crawford streets, leaving more than a score of dead, three times this many more injured and damage to both industrial plants and residences of hundreds of thousands of dollars. In the same month, the Wabash River set its record high mark of floods, completely covering West Terre Haute, Central Terre Haute (Taylorville) and sweeping into the north edge of Terre Haute. In the area south of Maple Avenue and north of Eight Avenue and from Third street to the high ground at Seventh street scores of homes were floating around. Terre Haute was isolated for several days from all travel by rail in any direction out of the city. Portions of the rails were washed away and bridges over the Wabash were to weak to permit train travel. On the political front in 1913, scandals enveloped the administration of Mayor Donn Roberts, Democrat. When the federal court trials were finished, an entire railroad passenger car full of city and county officials, including Mayor Roberts were sent to Leavenworth, Kansas Federal prison for election law violations and other charges.
Garfield High School
A second high school was added to the school system of Terre Haute, Garfield high school being opened. A football rivalry began with Wiley high school and Garfield high school, that lasted until North Vigo and South Vigo high schools replaced Wiley, Garfield and Gerstmeyer.
Prairie Creek Wesleyan Church
Prairie Creek Wesleyan Church was founded February 1, 1914 by a group of Middletown Prairie Creek people as the "Apostolic Holiness Church, Mount Zion Chapel." There was a merger in 1922 which changed the name to Pilgrim Holiness and the final merger and name change occurred in 1968.
Boy Scout Park
Boy Scout Park is located on .3 acre of land at Lafayette and Barbour avenues. Members of the Boy Scouts of America planted the trees in honor of President Theodore Roosevelt. It is maintained by the Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department.
Sarah Scott and McLean Schools
Two new junior high schools Sarah Scott and McLean opened during the year. These were the first junior high schools in the area.
WORLD WAR I
Terre Haute women contributed to War Relief Work by selling Red Cross stamps, working at the Red Cross headquarters, and knitting articles for the war effort. This 1917-19 list of workers from the Terre Haute Chapter of the American Red Cross reveals that most of the committee chairs were women.
American Red Cross of the Wabash Valley
The chapter was first founded as the "Terre Haute Chapter" on February 17, 1917 by Charter of the United States Congress signed by President Woodrow Wilson to serve Terre Haute under Chapter Chairman William C. Ball. It was rechartered March 15, 1955 as "The Terre Haute-Vigo County Chapter" signed by President Dwight D. Eisenhower to serve the enlarged area. Another charter was issued March 19, 1962 as "The Wabash Valley Chapter" and was signed by President John F. Kennedy in order to give the chapter expansion opportunities to meet the increasing needs for services in a larger area. Parke County joined with Wabash Valley in 1991 and Sullivan County was added in 1995.
Chapter records reveal that The American Red Cross played an extremely important role in this part of Indiana and that the chapter was very active during two World Wars, the Korean Conflict, The Great Depression of the 1930s, and other active periods such as the Vietnam Crisis, Desert Storm, and the civil war in Bosnia. Awards have been given to this chapter from other national societies and it has shared in the Nobel Peace Prize through the International Red Cross.
West Terre Haute Chapter #428 Order of Eastern Star
Chapter #428 was founded October 6, 1917 by the Eastern Star's Indiana Grand Chapter to provide for the welfare of wives, daughters, mothers, widows, and sisters of Master Masons. The Heart Association, Cancer Fund, and toys for children in trauma are sponsored by #428.
First Municipal Airport
May -- First Municipal Airport, Paul Cox Field at South Seventh street and Davis avenue was opened for use.
The first Girl Scout troop was organized in Terre Haute at the YWCA in 1918 by Ida Probst six years after Juliette Gordon Low had founded Girl Scouting in the United States.
The Terre Haute Girl Scout Council was organized in 1930. The present Covered Bridge Council was formed in 1962 and its headquarters at 1100 Girl Scout Lane in Fairbanks Park opened in 1974.
Women nurses and other volunteers worked with the sick at emergency hospitals during the flu epidemic of 1918. In Terre Haute the epidemic was so bad that all public churches, schools and theaters were closed from October 1918 until the spring of 1919.
Schering-Plough Animal Health
The Commercial Solvents Corporation (now Schering-Plough Animal Health) was established in 1919, at the end of World War I, and earned distinction as the pioneer producer of acetone and butanol by fermentation processes developed and patented by Dr. Chaim Weizmann. Terre Haute was selected as the home of CSC research because location at this plant made possible the convenient translation of new processes from laboratory and pilot-plant to full-scale production. (Annual report, 1950)
Over the years, the products of Commercial Solvents have included specialty and commodity chemicals for industry, agricultural chemicals, animal health and nutrition products, industrial explosives, and carbon blacks. CSC remained an independent company until 1975 when it merged with the International Minerals and Chemical Corporation (IMC) and became a wholly-owned subsidiary of IMC. Eventually, IMC bought Pitman-Moore Inc., another company involved with animal products, and the Terre Haute plant changed its name to Pitman-Moore in 1987.
Curtis Gilbert Park
Curtis Gilbert Park, located on the site of his home, became a part of the Terre Haute Park Department in 1919. It was known as City Park in the early 1900s and later as Steeg Park. The four-acre site was the gift of the Beach and Gilbert families.
Jack and June's Poplar Flower Shop
Jack and June's Poplar Flower Shop was founded in 1920 as "Randolph's Greenhouse" by "Mac" Randolph.
Purchased in 1947 by Jack and June Sitarski from her parents when it was known as "Poplar Flower Shop" and located at 1361 Poplar Street. The name became "Jack and June's Poplar Flower Shop" about 1964 after moving to South 18th St. Jim and Jack bought the business from their Parents, June and Jack, about 1984.
On August 26, 1920, the 19th Amendment to U.S. Constitution was ratified by three quarters of the state legislatures granting women full voting rights in the United States. This amendment fulfilled a campaign which formally started in 1848.
Former Terre Haute journalist and suffragist Ida Husted Harper (1851-1931) lived to see the woman suffrage amendment passed. Many of her friends and early suffragists, such as Suzan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, did not live to see the final fruits of their struggle.
Forrest Sherer, Inc.
Forrest Sherer "Man of Action" founded this independent insurance agency in 1920 as a sole proprietorship. Sherer incorporated the business in 1963.
The business grew steadily during the first 40 years in business with an ever-growing staff of people. Sherer included in his services the "extraordinary initiative" of establishing a claims department which still exists today in the assisting, adjusting and claims taking format to aid customers in filing claims.
The business has spent most of its life housed in the Chanticleer Building at 24 N. 6th St. which began as a retail outlet area on the first floor for various entities including a furrier, bookstore, and small department store. There were a number of individual offices located upstairs for attorneys, accountants, a judge at one time, and various other individuals operating from single offices. The Chanticleer has been remodeled several times by Forrest Sherer which currently (as of 1999) occupies 7/8 of the building.
The business in 1999 is mostly a family business, but is owned by both the Sherer family and employees. It serves an area of 35 states and has a staff of 60 plus.
Overhead Door Company of Terre Haute, Inc.
Overhead Door Company of Terre Haute, Inc. was founded in 1921 for the sales and service of Overhead Garage Doors. The advertising slogan is "The Genuine. The Original. Overhead Door."
Gibault School for Boys
The Gibault Home for Boys was an idea first conceived by the Indiana Knights of Columbus in 1909 and the home named after Fr. Pierre Gibault, a patriot priest of the American Revolution, was dedicated on October 9, 1921. The new school, a "refuge for wayward boys," was located just south of Terre Haute and the first director was Rev. Michael Gorman. The "home" had exceeded its original capacity of 25 boys within two months and plans for Chartrand Hall and Alerding Hall were made. Chartrand was completed in 1922 and Alerding in 1926. In 1934, a larger staff was required as the home's services were in much demand and the Brothers of Holy Cross from Notre Dame, IN were asked to assume the administration of the school and programs.
The "Holy Cross Era" was one of significant growth, improvement and expansion. Rupert Poudrier, the first Holy Cross Brother/Director, arrived at Gibault to find 35 Indiana boys in residence. In 1936, the home was opened to boys from every Midwestern state.
The home today is able to serve 147 boys from not only the Midwest, but also as far away as Florida, Vermont and California. The school is accredited for grades 1-12 and employs more than 225 staff members. The continuing excellence of the school is made possible by the generosity of the Indiana Knights of Columbus, Gibault's donor family, and those who care deeply about troubled children.
The 177-acre Deming Park, located at Fruitridge Avenue and Ohio Blvd., was established in 1921. The land was purchased from the Deming Land Company. The Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department opened the Frisbee Disc Course at the park in 1983 and constructed Torner Center on the grounds in 1984.
Turner Coaches Inc.
Turner Coaches Inc. was founded in 1921 by Charles Turner who first transported passengers in his White Touring Car. John Turner, a grandson, and Charles Beckwith bought the business from the second generation of the family in 1982. The business is now located at 2135 E. Margaret Avenue.
Gerstmeyer Technical High School
Gerstmeyer Technical High School, 1250 Locust St., was home to the "Black Cats." The school originated with the Boys Vocational School's move to the former Rose Polytechnic Institute building in 1922. The Girls' Vocational School followed in 1925.
The school was named for Dr. Charles F. Gerstmeyer, a promoter of vocational education in the city.
A new gym was constructed in 1950. The school closed in 1971; Chauncey Rose Middle School is located on the site.
Gurman Container & Supply Corp.
Gurman Container & Supply founded by Israel Gurman in 1922 to manufacture containers for industry remains under the direction of Robert Gurman.
Terre Haute's tallest business building (12 stories) was constructed at 19-21 S. 6th St. by Citizens Trust Company.
Garmong Design/Build Construction
Claude H. Garmong founded the Garmong Design/Build Construction in 1923 as a single-residence builder. In its early years, this fourth-generation company helped to create the historic Edgewood Grove neighborhood.
The most interesting change the company observed was during World War II. Little building construction was going on, so in order to keep both men & equipment busy, Garmong's built ammunition boxes to be sold to the old Hercules Ammo factory north of town which then shipped bullets and powder overseas. After the war ended Garmong's went back to commercial and residential construction.
K. Richard Garmong became president of the company in 1952. This decade saw Garmong move into the area of light commercial design and construction, taking on projects such as gas stations, churches and schools.
In 1974, Kenneth O. Hannum became the company's third president. Garmong's focus turned toward general construction.The company moved into the construction management area in the 1980s with the addition of civil, electrical and mechanical engineers. David L. Hannum became the fourth company president in 1989.
Garmong's became the only full service building consultant in the Wabash Valley in the 1990s. Garmong can turnkey a complex construction project from concept through site selection, design and construction such as the Tribune Star Office Project in Terre Haute.
Mace Service Lincoln-Mercury
In 1924, Herbert N. Mace became half owner of Terre Haute Tire Co. which becomes Mace Service in the late 1930s. In 1946, it becomes Mace Lincoln Mercury.
The company President, as of 1999, is Richard Mace, son of the founder, Herbert Mace.
Memorial Stadium was completed in 1924 and dedicated in honor of World War I service personnel from Vigo County on May 25, 1925.
Located at Wabash and Brown avenues, the stadium stands on the former site of the Vigo County Agricultural Society Fairgrounds noted for having a four-corner, one-mile horse race track on the grounds.
Memorial Stadium served as the home field for the Terre Haute Phillies baseball team through 1956 and as a place for local high school and college games to be played.
It became a facility of Indiana State University in 1966 under a 99-year lease with the city and county.
Ivan L. Morris founded Morris Trucking in 1925 to transport shipments of produce to the Detroit and Chicago areas; then in the '40s began to haul primarily for Davis Greenhouse, in the '50s refrigerated products from the Turkey plant, and in 1967 hauled petroleum.
Morris trucking is now a truckload carrier, operating about 35 tractors and 70 trailers in approximately 29 states.
Morris' current (as of 1999) president is the founder's grandson.
Badoura Temple #23, Daughters of the Nile
The Supreme Temple founded the Badoura Temple #23 on April 16, 1925. The organization assists Shriners in charitable work through sewing for the St. Louis and Lexington hospitals and provision of funds for orthopedic needs of children throughout the US and Canada.
Wabash Products Company
Wabash Products Company was founded in 1926 by Carson Simms and Glenn Maxwell.
Wabash Products Company was sold in 1984 to Sentry Paint Technologies of Darby, PA. Sentry had one manufacturing plant prior to the purchase of Wabash Products.John Van Etten of Lafayette was hired in 1985 to run the Terre Haute plant.
Sentry and Wabash purchased DeHart Paint and Coatings of Louisville, KY in 1987. John Van Etten was put in charge of the acquisition and operation of DeHart.
Sentry, Wabash & DeHart began a new manufacturing plant behind DADC in the Fort Harrison Industrial Park in 1988. This plant is in production now and manufactures only "powder" paints.
P.E.O., Chapter K
P.E.O., Chapter K was founded on December 12, 1926 for the purpose of philanthropy and education.
Community Theatre of Terre Haute, Inc.
The second oldest community theater in continuous operation in the state of Indiana, established 1926, completed a one million dollar expansion and renovation of its theater at 25th and Washington Streets in 1998.
American Legion Pioneer Post #340
American Legion Pioneer Post #340 was organized February 28, 1928 at the request of Orlan Kanady, Carl J. Milliken, Clarence D. Hart, William Manuel, Thomas G. Waldron Sr., and Lloyd Bibbs. "A large group of colored veterans were present at the organizational meeting to hear an address by the Honorable Ora D. Davis, Mayor of Terre Haute, who explained the purpose of the American Legion and why the colored veterans should have their own post, although they were welcome to join Ft. Harrison Post #40. District Commander Linn S. Kidd was in charge of the meeting and about 75 veterans attended." The post was named for the unit of Terre Haute men who served in the 809th Pioneer Infantry, Company F during World War I. The first post home was located on South 12th Street. Later in 1938, the post members purchased the property at Tippecanoe Street and expanded the property in 1980 towards the southern portion of the 2100 block. In 1987 questionnaires sent to 268 members, with only one abstaining and one no vote, showed that Post #340 wanted a new "Post Home." The new building at 2149 Tippecanoe St. was completed April 1988 and dedicated June 1, 1988. Post #340 and its Auxillary support Boys State and Girls State.
Krietenstein American Legion Post 104
The Krietenstein American Legion Post 104 "The Original Friendly Post" was named in honor of Carl Mount Krietenstein, donator (through his estate) of the original post and property on North Thirteenth Street. The charter was accepted and signed on July 7, 1928. The first commander of the post was J. Straughan, founder, who served from 1928 to 1930. The post moved on November 1, 1996 to a new location at 2690 Gt. Harrison Rd. and the old property was sold.
The first Montgomery Ward store in Terre Haute was opened in 1928 at 602-606 Wabash Avenue. Several years later it was moved across the street to 601-605 Wabash Avenue. By 1954, a farm store at 514 Ohio St. and a tire store at 510 Ohio St. were in operation. The company constructed a new store at 333 S. Third St. in 1968 which remained opened until Dec. 24, 1981.
Motor Freight Corporation
This trucking business began in 1928 with Harry Adams operating one truck between Terre Haute and Brazil. Adams Motor Express was moved to Terre Haute in 1931 and renamed Motor Freight Corporation. Operations were moved from 18th Street and Wabash Avenue to a new offices, terminal and garage facility at 13th and Voorhees Streets in 1954. The company was sold to B.F. Goodrich Co. in 1969.
Dresser / Paul Cox Field
The Dresser Field property at South Seventh St. and Davis Ave. (now the site of Terre Haute South Vigo High School) was acquired for a public airfield in 1929.
Paul S. Cox and members of Fort Harrison Post No. 40, American Legion, and the Terre Haute Airport (Aero) Club were among those who led the effort to establish an air field in Terre Haute. It became a Municipal Airport in 1930.
Cox was killed in an air crash in 1932. The field was rededicated as Paul Cox Field in 1933 in his memory.
After Hulman Field opened in 1944, the Paul Cox Field served as a private airfield until 1959.
Wabash Valley Stamp Club
The Wabash Valley Stamp Club was established in June 1929 and members met at the Emeline Fairbanks Public Library initially, though the meeting headquarters varied at this time. Club meetings during 1947 were held in the Goodwill Industries Building as were the annual stamp exhibits, through the generosity of Ted Grob, Sr., Goodwill Director and avid stamp collector. The club meeting site moved again to the Emeline Fairbanks Public Library in 1950, then in the same year to the McFall Room of the YMCA where the club met until 1968. Meetings moved to the Senior Citizens Center in 1968, but the new Vigo County Public Library became the meeting site in 1979. The stamp club was partly social until 1957 with wives and families taking part in activities. The club's largest exhibition was held in 1951 at the Mayflower Room of the Terre Haute House and was open to anyone in the US who might wish to exhibit. Presently the club is involved with monthly meetings and the annual stamp show.
Lawn & Garden Tractor Co., Inc.
Lawn & Garden Tractor Co, Inc. was founded in the late 1920's by Jack Lehman and Bill Mullins as a Massey Harris farm equipment dealership.
Richard and Ann Page purchased the business after World War II. Richard moved the facility to the south side of U.S. 40 in West Terre Haute.
The concept of manufacturing miniature size tractors specifically for lawn & garden maintenace was just beginning to develop on the late 1950s. The introduction of the Wheelhorse lawn & garden tractor in the very early sixties, and Mr. Page's ability as a salesman, allowed the little business to prosper.
In 1969, Bryan Zuerner co-signed a loan for the amount of $1,350.00 for his 14 year-old son, Dan for the purchase of a Gravely garden tractor. Dan eventually had more than seventy regular, weekly customers and employed as many as four other people to assist with the work load for his lawn maintanence business.
Bryan Zuerner and wife, Phyllis purchased the Pages' business in 1973. In the mid to late 1970s, subdivisions were springing up all over. the many new homeowners needed power equipment to landscape and take care fo their new homes. Gardening remained poular as a hobby. the waether produced excellent grass growing conditions.
Bryan brought in Ron Noordsy to become a business partner until 1981 when Ron sold his portion to Dan and Joan Zuerner. Bryan and Phyllis have retired, but Dan remains active in the position of President to work closely with Vice President John Mann in moving the business into the 21st century.
Lawn & Garden is one of the first companies of its kind to offer retail replacement parts support to potential customers world-wide through the internet (www.lawn-n-garden.com). Shipments have recently been made to companies such as Denmark, Sweden, Barbados, and Brazil.
Their motto is, "At Lawn & Garden Tractor Co., you become more than our customer, you become our friend."
The Oakley Corporation - The 124 Madison Corporation
The Oakley Corporation is an Indiana Corporation and has been in business for more than sixty years. The company was founded by Hollie N. Oakley in the Depression Era (1930s) when he built the company into a chain of more than 100 grocery markets in Indiana and Illinois. Oakley sold his chain of stores to the Kroger Company in the 1950s and relocated to Maitland, FL. The company remained headquartered in Terre Haute, IN and continued to own and operate commercial properties as well as manage an investment portfolio. Mr. Oakley passed away in 1965 and the stock of the corporation was passed on to the H. N. Oakley Trust, which was acquired in September 1993 by The 124 Madison Corporation. The Oakley Corporation remains an investment and real estate holding company owning and operating commercial properties in Indiana and Florida and manages all properties from the Terre Haute, IN office using in-house staff. The 124 Madison Corporation was chartered in Indiana in 1979 and began business in 1980 as a leasing and financial services company. The company holds a portfolio of both leases and stocks and actively continues in the leasing business.
Girls Club (Torner House)
August 14, 1930
Salvation Army bread line
In Terre Haute during the Depression, September, 1930
First Airline Stewardess
Ellen Church (1904-1965) was a nurse and former hospital administrator of Terre Haute's Union Hospital during the 1950s-60s. Her national claim to fame is that she was the world's first airline stewardess, making her maiden flight with Boeing Air Transport (now United Airlines) on May 15, 1930. Church revolutionized commercial air travel by convincing Boeing that nurses could care for passengers better than the mail pilots who flew the commercial planes.
First stewardesses in photograph, from uper left, Ellen Church and Alva Johnson; lower left, Margaret Arnott, Inez Keller, Cornelia Peterman, Harriet Fry, Jessie Carter, and Ellis Crawford.
American Can Company
With the beginning of the Great Depression that swept the nation, only one industrial building was constructed in Terre Haute---the American Can Co. plant on the west bank of the river just south of the Penn railroad bridge.
St. Benedict's Catholic Cathedral
St. Benedict's Catholic Cathedral at Ninth & Ohio streets was swept by disastrous fire that destroyed the great dome on which was mounted a statue of the Archangel Michael. The church was rebuilt without the great dome.
American Can Co.
Construction of the American Can Co. building was completed in 1931. Located on the east bank of the Wabash River at Sycamore Street, the factory produced cans for the local Loudan's and Quaker Main plants. The facility was sold to the Pillsbury Co. in 1963.
Franklin D. Roosevelt
At Big Four Train Depot, Terre Haute, September, 1932.
Newlin-Johnson Co., Inc.
Charles C. Newlin founded the C.C. Newlin Co., Inc in February 1932. Later that same year in October D.C. Johnson joined with Newlin and the company became Newlin-Johnson Co., Inc.
Newlin-Johnson Co., Inc. purchased land for development in 1937 and the Newlin-Johnson Development Co., Inc. was organized.
Hulman & Co. purchased Newlin-Johnson Development Co. in 1964 after the 1963 death of D.C. Johnson. John T. Newlin (Charles' son) joined Newlin-Johnson Co. in 1952 as a real estate salesman and became the company president in 1965.
John S. Newlin (John T. Newlin's son) joined the firm in 1979. He presently is executive vice president.
In 1991, the firm of Miller-Sargent-Miller merged with Newlin-Johnson Co., Inc. Carl N. (Chip) Miller III became a vice president and real estate sales manager.
Newlin-Johnson has been located in and owners of the Star Building on the southeast corner of 6th and Ohio for over 60 years. The Star Building was built about 1918 for the newspaper known as the Terre Haute Star. The building is listed on the National Historical Record.
Walker Motor & Machine Inc.
Joe Walker established this company in 1932 as part of Walker Electric Co. The current (as of 1999) name was adopted in 1984 and the owner is now Greg Walker.
First Indiana Woman Elected to Congress
Virginia Jenckes (1877 -1975) is noted as the first woman from Indiana to serve in the United States Congress. A native of Terre Haute, she began her political career at the age of 55 when she was elected to the House of Representatives in 1932. Jenckes decided to run as the Democratic candidate when rural issues became a primary concern to her. During the Depression, she supported the repeal of Prohibition and federally-funded flood control, both of which she felt would help farmers economically. Jenckes served in the 73rd, 74th, and 75th Congresses before being defeated for re-election in 1938.
Herm Rassel Men's and Ladies' Fashions
Herm Rassel Men's and Ladies' Fashions, now owned by Herm Rassel, Jr., was founded by Herm Rassel, Sr. in June 1932. The store moved in 1956 further south on 7th street and again in 1987 to Wabash Avenue.
Hillman Jewelers, Inc.
Hillman Jewelers, Inc. was founded in 1933 by George I. Felstein and Lee H. Hillman. Hillman left the business some years later, but his name was retained. Felstein's son, Allen, entered the business in 1946. A branch was opened in Vincennes, Indiana in 1957. 1958 was a significant year because Hillman's entered the international diamond market as a direct diamond importer. By 1975, Hillman's had opened two branch stores in Terre Haute as well as Vincennes, Greencastle, Crawfordsville and Columbus in Indiana and in Mattoon and Danville in Illinois.
Hillman's experienced a devastating fire in March 1963 when the city block were it was located was destroyed and the Hillman building was leveled. Hillman's reopened for business 8 months later in the same location on December 3.
David A. Felstein joined his father's business in 1970 and Arnold J. Kosofsy, a son-in-law, joined in 1971. Allen Felstein transferred control to the third generation in 1987, David became the president and Aronld a vice-president. Hillman's underwent a reorganization in 1995 and has only one location - in Honey Creek Mall.
PEO, Chapter Z
PEO Sisterhood was founded January 21, 1869 at Iowa Wesleyan College by 7 very bright dedicated friends and Terre Haute's chapter began April 22, 1934.
J.C. Penney Co.
James Cash Penney opened the "Golden Rule Store" in 1902 in Kemmerer, Wyoming. J.C. Penney Store #780 opened in Terre Haute on March 21, 1934 at 654 Wabash Ave. Despite the Depression, sales hit an all-time high, topping $212 million. By 1935, the first full year of operation for the Terre Haute location, Store #780 had sales over $264,000.
E.L. Bland was chosen to open and manage the Terre Haute location, but passed away in 1942, and F.L. Finnegan became his replacement. Finnegan was promoted sometime before 1946, and #780 was then managed by Arthur W. Brunner who was transferred sometime before 1950 and replaced by Archie T. Beasley. Beasley was followed by Phillip H. Crofts, Patrick H. Kelley, Adrian I. D'autremont, and William C. Mercer. The store had declining sales throughout the 1950's and was closed in July, 1961.
Meanwhile, a new store had already opened in Terre Haute. Former Manager of #780, "Duke" D'Autremont was chosen to open the new location at the Meadows Center. New Store #1791 held its Grand Opening on August 3, 1960. This store was replaced by #487 at Honey Creek Square which opened on August 5, 1981. Laurence R. Biesanz currently (as of 1999) manages #487.
Vigo County Federal Credit Union
A group of Vigo County Teachers and Terre Haute School Employees founded the Terre Haute, IN Schools Employees Federal Credit Union which received its organization certificate on April 15, 1935. The name changed on August 7, 1962 to Vigo County School Employees Federal Credit Union and again February 2, 1983 to Vigo County Federal Credit Union. The charter change on June 23, 1998 provided the ability to take in members from the whole county.
In 1935, a labor dispute between Columbian Enameling and Stamping Company and Federal Labor Union #19694 made national headlines. As tensions increased on both sides, the union, protesting the importation of out-of-town "strike breakers," called for a labor holiday. A general strike closed down business and transportation in the city of Terre Haute on July 22, 1935. National guardsmen moved into the county, as Governor Paul V. McNutt, acting on a request from the mayor, ordered martial law. Tear gas was used to disperse the pickets. The two-day general strike was called off, but the strike at the mill continued and martial law was in effect for six months. This was the third general strike in the history of the United States.
Terre Haute Bible Center, Inc.
Terre Haute Bible Center, Inc. was founded by Pastor H.H. Drake of West Terre Haute in February 1935. The Terre Haute Bible Center, Inc. built a new building at 3111 Evans Avenue and moved into it on December 20, 1998.
Williams and Associates, Realtors
Branam and Williams founded in 1938 by partners John Ti Branam and Bert O. Williams became Williams and Associates, Inc. in 1981.
Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Delta Chapter
The local chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society was founded by Mrs. Charlotte Burford and Miss Blanche on November 19, 1938. The International Society was founded May 11, 1929 at the University of Texas at Austin by Dr. Annie Webb Blanton, who envisioned a functioning organization uniting women teachers.
Glas-Col Apparatus Company
Glas-Col was founded December 13, 1939 by Dr. and Mrs. Glen H. Morey for the production of laboratory heaters, shakers, and stirrers. Glas-Col also provides custom electric heating for scientific laboratories and industry.
Population of Terre Haute
The population of city set at 62,693 by the 1940 Census. In 1900 the population was 36,673; 1910, 58,684.
Paul Dresser Park
The six-acre Paul Dresser Park was located on U.S. 40 west of the Wabash River bridge. It was a gift to the City of Terre Haute from the Paul Dresser Memorial Association organized in 1922.
Part of the land was used for the approach of the twin Wabash River bridges completed in 1992. The Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Board agreed to sell the remaining land in 1989.
Bundles for Britain"
Volunteers at Mrs. Dale's home, January 1941.
American Society of Women Accountants Terre Haute Chapter No. 8
The American Society of Women Accountants was founded in 1938 and the Terre Haute Chapter No. 8 received its charter in 1942, with Harriett Hahn, CPA as the first president.
Swope Art Museum
Terre Haute jeweler Sheldon Swope (1843-1929) made provisions in his will to establish an art gallery in his adopted hometown. Ten years after his death, planning began for the new gallery and collection to be housed there. The Swope opened with nationwide attention in 1942 and was featured in "Art Digest," in April of 1942, one month after it opened.The collection consists of 19th & 20th century American art with important works by Thomas Cole, George Inness, Mary Fairchild MacMonnies, George Bellows, Thomas Hart Benton, Grant Wood, Malvina Hoffman, Edward Hopper, Richard Hunt, Robert Motherwell, Andy Warhol, and important Indiana artists such as T.C. Steele, J. Otis Adams, Otto Stark, Gilbert Wilson, Janet Scupper, Caroline Peddle Ball, and James F. Gookins.
The first director, John Rogers Cox, in 1942 bought important new works by living artists (Grant Wood, Thomas Hart Benton, Charles Burchfield, and Edward Hopper).
In 1987 the gallery became Swope Art Museum. The focus changed to American art only in 1995. Pieces of Non-American were deaccessioned or given to other historical museums.
United Way of the Wabash Valley, Inc.
United Way was founded in 1887 and the local fundraising unit became an affiliate in 1942.
The local unit started out as the Society for Organized Charity in 1882. It set up a transient shelter in an old station house that had been donated by the city, which was inadequate and funds were raised for a new one. The Welfare League started in 1919 and ran until 1932, was succeded by the Terre Haute Community Fund which was replaced by the Health-Welfare Fund in 1936 and the Community Chest was organized in 1942. The final name change occurred in 1976.
Retired Railroad Men's Association
The Retired Railroad Men's Association was founded April 29, 1942 by W.F. Kreke and John W. Aubert for the purpose of protecting the Retirement Act and to liberalize the same, when such time is favorable and to assist members entitled to Annuity, under the retirement laws to secure the same. The by-laws were changed in 1993 to allow women railroad employees to join the association.
War Bond Saleswomen
Terre Haute, June, 1943
Local National Youth Adminstration
Workers train for jobs in industry in 1943
Red Light District
Terre Haute's notorious Red Light district which at times had more than 900 girls and 400 madams (1916) closed by Mayor Vern McMillan for his entire administration and during the war years of World War II. Later in the fifties and sixties it reopened on a minor scale with not more than 10 houses and fewer than 30 girls working at one time. Under the present administration of Mayor William C. Brighton there are no illegal houses of prostitution in operation.
Hulman Field Airport
Hulman Field, located on State Road 42 east of Terre Haute, was dedicated on October 3, 1944. The 640 acres of ground had been approved for an airport the year before and was purchased through a $100,000 gift to the city from Anton Hulman, Jr.
TWA air service was inaugurated on July 1, 1945. Offices and facilities were moved to the new field from Paul Cox Field in 1946. A terminal building, replacing the original Quonset huts, was dedicated in 1953 and expanded in 1983.
In 1954 the Indiana Air National Guard established a base at Hulman Field. Indiana's only FAA Automated Flight Service Station opened in 1985, and Ivy Tech State College opened its Indiana Center for Aviation Technology in 1992 at what was then known as Hulman Regional Airport.
The name was changed to Terre Haute International Airport--Hulman Field in 1998.
John G. Dobbs Memorial Park
The John G. Dobbs Memorial Park at Highways 46 and 42 was established in 1944. The 105-acre site was a gift to the City of Terre Haute from Effie Frances Dobbs and Mary Hollis Call in memory of Miss Dobbs' father. The Nature Center was added in 1976; the Native American Museum opened in 1994. The park is a resource of the Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department.
Lost Creek Community Club
The Lost Creek Community Club was founded on December 2, 1945 by community residents and plans made on April 5, 1946 included a purchase agreement of 6.9 acres of land known as Hamilton Grove. During the fundraising activities a "Womanless Wedding" was held on February 15, 1947. Other more common fundraisers were plays, softball games, box suppers and even renting out the ground to Harry Batton as pasture for several years before the pouring of a concrete area in June 1950. The first membership banquet was held June 1960 and the 50th Anniversary was celebrated September 14, 1996.
Seventh War Loan Drive Booth at the Terre Haute House
Sponsored by the Women's Division, Vigo County War Finance Committee, April, 1945
Torner House Girls Club
The Torner House Girls Club was organized in 1945 by the Torner House Association. The Property at 1107 South Fourth Avenue had been purchased by the city with funds left by Rebecca Torner, a teacher at Wiley High School.
The Torner House Girls Club remained active until 1985. The property was sold and the funds used to build Torner Center in Deming Park.
Associated Door and Plywood Company of Indiana, Inc.
This company was founded March 22, 1946 as Building Wholesalers, Inc. by Pease Overton Lumber Co. and Alan Overton, Charles H. Pease, and Thomas M. Patrick. November 15, 1951 ushered in a new name for the company, but the landmark year was 1966 when sales topped $1,000,000 for the first time.
Wright, Shagley, & Lowery
Wright, Shagley, & Lowery was founded in 1946 by Bauer & Kincade and has underwent various changes.
Vigo County American Legion Council
The Vigo County American Legion Council was founded in 1946 as the Vigo County Veterans Council for the purpose of forming an organization of all veterans, to keep veterans informed of benefits available. The council is currently (as of 1999) made up of 16 veteran organizations.
Activities in addition to informational ones for the benefit of veterans include furnishing and placing flags on veterans' graves on Memorial Day, holding a Memorial Day service at Veterans Circle at Highland Cemetery, and for the Veterans' Day Parade, furnishing vans for Danville and Indianapolis.
Mayor Ralph Tucker
January 1 -- Ralph Tucker inaugurated mayor of Terre Haute. It was the beginning of a regime that lasted for five terms, unprecedented in the history of the city, no other mayor having served more than eight years.
Pfizer Inc. opened a plant south of the City of Terre Haute on January 1, 1948 for the production of human pharmaceuticals.
American Business Women's Association
American Business Women's Association, Sycamore Chapter was founded in 1949 for working women of diverse occupations and to provide opportunities for them to help themselves and others.
Conservatory of Music
The Conservatory of Music, a full-line music store offering merchandise, service and instruction, was founded in 1949 by John Reitmeyer and John Dickerson.
It began as a teaching school at 120 N. 7th St. (upstairs). By 1954, it had moved to 823 Wabash Ave. The business became a storefront operation in 1959 when it moved to Southland Shopping Center and the sale of instruments was added to its music education program. A second store was opened a K-Mart Plaza, 25th St. and Wabash Ave., in 1968. The Southland store closed in 1969.
The conservatory moved from K-Mart Plaza to Riverside Plaza, 3400 South U. S. 41, in 1976. Len Quinlan, owner, purchased the business from John and Fern Reitmeyer in 1981.
Terre Haute Welcome Club
The Terre Haute Welcome Club was founded on October 11, 1949 by 12 new residents of Terre Haute. "The object of the club is to promote and cement lasting friendships for new neighbors in Terre Haute, and to enrich the life and welfare of the members and the community."
In 1964, the membership requirements changed from one year or less to two years or less as a resident for women. In 1984 the object of the club was added. In 1998, the requirements were broadened to extend membership outside Vigo County to Wabash Valley women.
Major activities of the club include an annual fundraising event to raise money or donations of goods to help out a needy family or families at Christmastime. In recent years an auction has been held in November to raise funds.
P.E.O. Sisterhood AW Chapter
AW Chapter of P.E.O. Sisterhood was founded in 1950 by Bess Cunningham. The first president of AW Chapter was Mary McCutchan Waltor. The first P.E.O. Sisterhood was founded January 21, 1869 at Mount Pleasant, Iowa to aid women pursuing higher education and for charitable purposes. AW Chapter of P.E.O. is involved in five major projects: Cottey College in Nevada, Missouri; PEO Scholars; Continuing Education; Educational Loan Fund; and International Peace Scholarships.
TBM Building Services
TBM Building Services was founded in 1950 by Robert A. Casey, Jr. TBM Building Services moved from the Brinkman Hotel Building on Ninth Street in 1988 and the building was purchased and razed by ISU for parking. A new building was built on 14th Street which contained offices and a warehouse.
Census of 1950
Census sets population of city at 62,214 in the corporate limits and 13,814 outside the city.
Tulips Inc., a subsidiary of Vaughan Seed Co., was located in Terre Haute in 1950 by Dr. Clyde Homan. A large greenhouse and necessary facilities were constructed at 1850 Davis Avenue.
The business remained a subsidiary of Vaughan Seed Co. until 1960 when it was purchased by the Homans. Cut tulips continued to be shipped to wholesalers in many states.
After Dr. Homan's death in 1984, the business was sold to Jim and Dr Adams who renamed it TheTulip Company.
Carpe Diem Club
The Carpe Diem Club was founded November 15, 1951 by Helen Braun and Virginia Galbraith. The main purpose of the club is charity work. Some activities which it has done are Easter egg hunts, Santa Claus parties, bean dinners, Halloween parties, garage sales, and cooking for election workers. The club has used funding for the purposes of sending girls to 4-H camp, the purchase of coal, payment of light bills and gas bills, the purchase of groceries, fixing Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas baskets, and the purchase of clothing for needy children.
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry
The Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite is a masonic organization. The local lodge was organized in 1951. The local lodge building, commissioned by Theodore W. Barhydt, opened as the Hippedrome Theater, a vaudeville palace, on February 15, 1915 at 8th and Ohio Streets. The Hippedrome has been said to be the oldest vaudeville house in the US. This theater played live entertainment until August 30, 1924 when it became a motion picture house. The Scottish Rite purchased the building in 1956 for $100,000. The building has been faithfully preserved by the Scottish Rite and hosts two public concerts each year, one by the Brazil Concert Band and the other by the Sinfonietta. Scottish Rite activities include supporting research for Schizophrenia, the support of a Learning Disability Center for children, and Family Week.
Sigma Kappa Alumnae
The Terre Haute Chapter of Sigma Kappa Alumnae was founded in 1951 by local alumnae of the National organization. This is a social and support group for the ISU chapter of Sigma Kappa. Major activities are the Homecoming openhouse, Founders Day Celebration, an invitation luncheon, and a geneology project.
Thiemann Office Products, Inc.
This business was purchased in 1952 by E. Pete Thiemann. The business was managed by the next generation of the Thiemann family - Paul, Anne, and Mark. Thiemann Office Products moved to its current (as of 1999) location, 34 N. 6th St. in 1957.
Xi Alpha Mu of Beta Sigma Phi
This social organization for women was established by several local women on April 3, 1953. Major activities of the group are monthly programs, community projects, and service projects.
Chapter BN, P.E.O. Sisterhood
Chapter BN of the P.E.O. Sisterhood was founded May 5, 1953 by the P.E.O. Indiana State Organizer with the sponsorship of a member of Chapter K.
P.E.O. is a philanthropic, educational social group which is involved in the sponsorship, maintenance and promotion of Cottey Junior College for Women in Navada, Missouri.
Heart of the Nation Chapter, Professional Secretaries International
The local chapter of Professional Secretaries International was founded on November 1, 1953 by the Crossroads of America Chapter of Professional Secretaries International. The purpose of this organization was "to elevate the standards of the secretarial profession through education."
The organization underwent a name change in February 1981 and also in July 1996.
The Indiana division holds an annual meeting each April and the local chapter has been the Host Chapter three times - in 1962, 1968, and 1986. The meeting was held at the Terre Haute House in 1962 and in 1968, but moved to the Holiday Inn in 1986.
Major activities of the group included the Certified Professional Secretary Program, Professional Secretaries Week, Secretary of the Year, and many charitable activities.
The local chapter disbanded May 31, 1997.
Indiana Wholesalers of Terre Haute, Inc.
Indiana Wholesalers was a spin-off from Indiana Wholesalers, Inc - Evansville, IN and the Terre Haute location was founded in 1953. The first manager was Earl Morgan.
Terminal Building at Hulman Field
November 29 -- The Terminal Building at Hulman Field Airport was dedicated.
Eastside Church of Christ
Members of two congregations of the Church of Christ in Terre Haute formed an additional congregation on the east side of the city in 1954. The new congregation first met on May 9 with fifty-three charter members. A new building was erected in 1962 and 235 people attended the first service in that facility on December 2, 1962. A third facility was needed by the 90s and was completed at 4025 College Ave. on April 1993 for the Easter Sunday service.
Schulte High School
Schulte High school, 2901 Ohio Boulevard, was named for Most Rev. Paul Schulte, Archbishop of the Indianapolis Archdiocese. It opened in 1953 and closed in 1977. Its teams were known as the Golden Bears.
The building now houses offices and is known as the Corporate Square.
First Television Station
July 22 -- First Television station opened in Terre Haute, Channel 10, with studios in the old Stahl-Urban Overall Factory at 9 1/2 street and Ohio.
GE Engine Services Tri-Remanufacturing
The company was originally founded in 1955 by Vern Hux to manufacture aircraft engine components. The business goals were Quality, Service and Economy, creating the name Tri-industries, Inc. In 1960 the business moved from Jasonville, IN to Terre Haute and in 1988, UNC bought the facility from the owner. At that time the Tri Manufacturing shop was a manufacturer of new parts with a component repair capability. The component repair side of the business began to grow and in 1991, UNC separated the component repair business, which became UNC Tri-Remanufacturing and moved it across town to its current (as of 1999)location at 3390 Locust St.
UNC Tri-Remanufacturing was acquired by the General Electric Company in September 1997 and was renamed GE Engine Services Tri-Remanufacturing. At the time of the GE acquisition, there were 21 salaried employees and 82 hourly employees.
Sackrider & Company, Inc.
The firm was established July 1, 1956 when E. Leon Sackrider acquired the business of a predecessor firm. Subsequently, Tom Connelly became a partner and practiced with Sackrider until July 1965 when Connelly moved to California. W. Earl Holler joined the firm in July 1965 and C. E. Trummel joined the firm in December 1965. Charles F. Bradford was admitted to partnership October 1, 1970. Exactly one year later, the firm of Donald D. Rusk & Company merged with Sackrider's and Rusk became a partner.
September 24, 1974 saw the incorporation of the practice as Sackrider Holler Trummel, Inc. The partners were E. Leon Sackrider, W. Earl Holler, C. E. Trummel, Charles F. Bradford and Donald D. Rusk. Effective June 4, 1982 the corporate name was changed to Sackrider & Company, Inc.
O. Earl Elliott became a partner January 1, 1986 and Jerome M. Case became partner one year later on January 1, 1987. In 1995, David L. Kirchner and Jane A. Hadley became partners on January 1 and Charles F. Bradford retired at that same time.
Locations occupied include South Eighth St., The Tribune Building, South Sixth St., and 1925 Wabash Ave.
Swinging Mates Square Dance Club
Bob and Jeanne Bolling founded the Swinging Mates Square Dance Club in 1956. "Bob recalls he and a friend and fellow caller were teaching groups of dancers in 1956, decided to form a club and see how many dancers they could get together. Bob and pal came up with 26 couples, and The Swinging Mates were born." The Swinging Mates is a non-profit club which performs at nursing homes. The only requirements for membership are to take lessons, dance, and have fun.
World Gospel Church, Inc.
Carl F. Froderman founded the World Gospel Church in January 1957 in the former Scottish Rite facility. In 1961 the church moved to its present facility at Gardendale Road and Highway 46. Additions were made in 1972 for Education and Fellowship and in 1999 for the Young Child and Community programs.
Jones Tool & Machine, Inc.
Jones Tool & Machine, Inc. was founded in 1957 by Del Jones. The service provided is custom machining.
Colonel Sanders Kentucky Fried Chicken
The Colonel Sanders Kentucky Fried Chicken franchise first was put into operation in Terre Haute at the Eat-A-Teria, 2525 Wabash Avenue. The deal was closed with a handshake between Col. Harland Sanders and Eugene Knauer, Eat-A-Teria owner, in 1958.
Historical Museum of the Wabash Valley
May 11 -- Historical Museum of the Wabash Valley was opened up in the old Nagel Home at Sixth street and Washington Avenue, its present location.
Xi Beta Chi
This chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was founded in September 1959. Xi Beta Chi's main Ways & Means projects have been the painting of the inside and/or outside of rental properties owned by one member. Proceeds are then used for various projects - adopting a family each Christmas and supplying food and gifts as well as supplying Bingo gifts for an Adult Day Care.
Courthouse Fighter Jet
The F84F jet fighter plane, located on the southeast portion of the Vigo County Courthouse lawn, was presented to the city and county on Nov. 11, 1959. Major George Meyers, on behalf of the Air Force and all veterans organizations, made the presentation. The plane added "a touch of modern military equipment to the Civil war cannons and monument already in place on the lawn.
Sycamore Engineering, Inc.
Robert H. Dinkel founded Sycamore Engineering, Inc. in April 1960.
Contemporary Development, Inc. was founded in 1960 by Fred A. Locke, Jr. and Thomas L. Francis with headquarters in Terre Haute and specializes as General Contractor for commercial, industrial, and institutional projects.
In 1964, Fred A. Locke, Jr. moved to Atlanta, Georgia and commences a Georgia operation. In 1967 CDI, Inc. was founded. All Indiana operations of Contemporary Development, Ic. were transferred to CDI, Inc. a wholly owned subsidiary of Contemporary Developments, Inc. That same year CDI, Inc. is purchased by Thomas L. Francis and Templeton Coal Co..
Thomas L. Francis acquires all of Templeton Coal Company's interest in CDI in 1974. Francis is the current (as of 1999) president of CDI, Inc.
Kleptz Aluminum and Vinyl Products, Inc.
Frank A. Kleptz founded his business in 1960.
Sky King Airport
Sky King Airport, located in Otter Creek Township at 6898 Clinton St., was opened by Herman Brown in 1960. Kirby Grant, star of the "Sky King" television show, was present for the grand opening ceremonies in August, 1962.
Brown's Flying School, Inc., in operation since 1951, is located at the airport.
Population of Terre Haute
Population of Terre Haute set at 72,500. The city limits during the decade have extended to take in all of Harrison township and are the present limits of the city.
Vigo County School Corporation
The consolidation of area rural school systems with the Terre Haute city schools occurred in 1961. Thus, the Vigo County School Corporation was legally formed. It currently (as of 1999) has 16,800 students and over 2,000 staff.
Vigo County Teachers Association
The Vigo County Teachers Association was founded in 1961 at the time of the creation of the Vigo County School Corporation. It was the successor organization to the Terre Haute Teaching Association, which dates back to 1945.
Vigo County Public Library
The Vigo County Public Library extended library service of the public library to the entire county.
Eugene V. Debs Foundation
The Eugene V. Debs Foundation was founded in 1962 to preserve the home of Kate and Eugene Debs at 451 N. 8th St. and maintain it as a museum open to the public.
Honey Creek Garden Club
Honey Creek Garden Club was established January 23, 1963 by 12 members. The Garden Club meets monthly in order to stimulate knowledge and love of gardening. The Club also awards an annual scholarship to a student in horticultural related studies, gives an annual donation to the Vigo County Public Library, awards winners at the Vigo County Fair Flower Show, is a member of Trees, Inc., hosts an annual plant sale, and hosts an annual flower show.
National Society Colonial Dames
XVII Century, Nathaniel Foote Chapter
The founding date is March 30, 1963 although the history of the Nathaniel Foote Chapter of the Colonial Dames XVII Century dates from October 4, 1958 when Alma Love Metcalf was appointed Organizing President at the State Society meeting in Lebanon. In November 1957 Mrs. Metcalf had received application papers and an invitation from Mrs. H.C. Harvey, State Organizing Secretary, inviting her to become a member of the Colonial Dames XVII Century. Her name had been suggested by a cousin in California to the then National President General, Mrs. Harrington. In February 1958 Metcalf's application papers were approved and she became a member of the Benjamin Mendenhall Chapter. Mrs. Harvey then suggested it would be wonderful if a chapter could be organized in Terre Haute and asked Metcalf to investigate the possibility.
On October 24, 1959 an organizing meeting was held in the Crystal Room of the Deming Hotel and with a membership of ten, the chapter name of "Nathaniel Foote" was officially confirmed. The charter requirement of twenty-one members was achieved and on March 30, 1963 the chapter was chartered.
Imperial Lanes, Inc.
Imperial Lanes was founded by Paul Haas in 1963. Interior remodeling included the installation of automatic scorers and guardians on the lanes.
Ivy Tech State College, Region 7
Ivy Tech was created as an official instrument of the state of Indiana in 1963. Region 7 was chartered on January 5, 1967.
In 1961, Dr. John Hicks of Purdue found that there was a large gap in the area of vocational training and asked Glenn Sample to work on a preliminary plan for a institution for this area. Hicks and Sample's plan was to establish a statewide vocational technical college as a joint enterprise of commerce, industry, agriculture, labor, education, and the public at large. A proposal was given to the 1963 legislature and through agressive lobbying the proposal passed, giving the appointed board $50,000 for a two-year period to start the college, hire a president and necessary staff, defray expenses of office headquarters and conduct a few programs. In 1965 the trustees went back to the legislature with a design for a college to operate in 13 regions, each with its own Board of Trustees. The legislature increased the budget to #3,000,000.
The Wabash Valley (Terre Haute) Region was the first to be chartered for the college and registered with the Office of the Secretary of State. C. Huston Issacs was the first director, appointed March 15, 1967.
March 20 -- One of the most disastrous fires ever to sweep the business district of Terre Haute, burned out nearly half of the businesses on the north side of Wabash at Sixth street extending east to the Meis Store.
First Sewage Disposal Plant
City's first sewage disposal plant was put in operation on State Road 63 south of the city along the riverbank.
Home of Paul Dresser
June 5 -- Birthplace home of Paul Dresser, moved to its present location in Fairbanks Park along the Wabash River. It is open to the general public and is a registered national landmark.
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Vigo County, Inc.
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Vigo County, Inc. is the local chapter of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America Federation. The local chapter was incorporated as a Big Brother program in May of 1964. Submission for United Way funding in 1966 occurred with affiliation beginning in 1967. During the early 1970s, the Big Sister program formed. A relationship with ISU began in 1965 as part of Vigo County's War on Poverty campaign. During 1977 with Title XX funding the agency reorganized initiating greater involvement with Rose Hulman and ISU students. A relationship was established with the Governor's Commission for a Drug Free Indiana in 1990. Grant funds were also received from C.H.A.N.C.E.S. For Youth in 1990 and those continued until July 1997. Currently (as of 1999) the agency has stepped up to the plate in committment to TEAM 2000, the growth of the Big Brothers Big Sisters of America Federation, by making a committment to double the number of children served by the end of the year 2000.
Junior Achievement of the Wabash Valley, Inc.
The local Junior Achievement was founded in 1965.
Van & Sons, Inc.
C.J. Van Lannen founded this business in 1965. Products offered include Paragon entry doors, Raynor garage doors as well as the service of building garages.
A.P. Machine & Tool Inc.
A.P. Machine & Tool Inc., 1301 Elm St., was founded by Andre Ponsot, a native of France, in 1966. A family corporation, the business is managed by his sons Thierry and Marc Ponsot.
Theta Tau Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi
Theta Tau Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was founded October 1966 and is the first chapter in Seelyville, Indiana. It was founded by Esta Crim, Shirley Rogers, and Beverly Light. The major activities of the group are State Council Day, Bowling, State Day, Convention, Hoosier Boys Town, August Picnic, Style Show, Christmas Party, Queen's Ball, and Founder's Day.
Wabash Valley Ducks Unlimited
The history of Wabash Valley Ducks Unlimited starts over half a century ago during the Dust Bowl of the 1930s when a group of sportsmen banded together to form an organization that would become known as Ducks Unlimited. North America's drought-plagued waterfowl populations had plunged to unprecedented lows and the founders of DU decided to do something about it. They incorporated the fledgling conservation group in 1937 and within a year, 6,720 supporters had raised $90,000.
The local chapter of Ducks Unlimited was founded in 1967. A membership dinner is held in October at Larry Bird's Homecourt with attendance of 300-400 persons.
Wabash Valley React, Inc.
Wabash Valley REACT, Inc. is a member of REACT (Radio Emergency Associated Communications Teams) International which covers Channel 9, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week to offer public assistance in the community. The local team was formed in 1967, just five years after Hallicrafters Radio Corporation sponsored the original group and two years before GM was a sponsor.
Robert Wilson Insurance
Robert Wilson, Sr. founded an insurance business in 1967 for the sale of personal and commercial insurance.
Memorial United Methodist
Memorial United Methodist was the result of a merger in 1968 between Montrose Methodist and Otterbein United Brethren in conjunction with the merger of the Methodist Church and the United Brethren churches.
Montrose Methodist was founded in 1870 as the Montrose Society and built a church in 1875 which was associated with the St. Agnes Mission and later the Asbury Methodist Church. The church was destroyed by fire in 1880, rebuilt in 1892, and expanded in 1908 and 1968.
Otterbein United Brethren was organized in October 1922 as a "Home Mission" by Reverend William Todd. A permanent tabernacle was erected in 1924 for the congregation. After the merger in 1968 the new church at 2701 Poplar Street was named Memorial United Methodist Church.
A fire on January 28, 1973 destroyed all of the church except the sanctuary and the congregation began plans to rebuild. On February 24, 1974 a reconstruction service was held and on October 10, 1976 the church was presented the Guidepost Church Award and has been called "the church that rose from the ashes."
Time Warner Cable
Time Warner Cable's local office was founded in 1968 and the first general manager was Charlie Guion.
Wabash Valley Pizza Hut, Inc.
The first local Pizza Hut opened on January 11, 1969 and was managed by Charles T. Culp. A second store opened on December 16, 1971, a third on April 21, 1976 and a fourth on July 31, 1994. The Pizza Hut Express was operated in the Honey Creek Mall from July 9, 1984 until June 30, 1994.
A-1 Sanitation, Inc.
A-1 Sanitation Service was founded by president Homer Easthom in 1969. In July 1995 the business was purchased by James and Jill Short. The Shorts changed the name to A-1 Sanitation, Inc. and expanded the sewer and drain service.
Laureate Omicron Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi, successor to Preceptor Omicron Chapter
Beverly Light and Edythe Westerfield founded this chapter in 1969 as the Preceptor Omicron Chapter. The group underwent a name change in 1997 when 22 members became eligible for the Laureate Degree and chose to stay together in one chapter. The Motto of this group is Life, Learning and Friendship. The group normally has a guest speaker or members present a cultural program each month along with the monthly social. In addition, a number of service projects are performed each year at the McMillan Adult Day Care Center and donations are given to the Sullivan County Family Welfare Service.
Minnis International, Inc.
The business was founded by Charles Bielfield and Joseph Minnis, Sr and Joseph Minnis, Jr. in 1969. In 1982 it was purchased in entirety by Joseph Minnis, Jr.
Terrell and Mardis, P.C., CPAs
Duane L. Terrell, CPA founded the business in 1970 which offers public accounting service. The location changed in December 1978 and the incorporation change occurred in October 1982.
Population in 1970
Population of city set at 69,530, a drop of 3,000 from the 1960 census. However it was noted that the population of Vigo county showed an increase off-setting the decline in the corporate city.
Terre Haute Women's Club Inc.
Terre Haute Women's Club was founded by Scotty Terhune and Pat Derks in July 1971. Both of these women had been GFWC members in other cities and wanted to start a group that would also become associated with The General Federation of Women's Clubs which is an organization binding together independent volunteer organizations formed to promote common interests in conservation, education, public affairs, the home, international affairs and the arts.
Pat and Scotty chose two projects for the new club which were Cara School where members served as aids and Throw, which was a recycling program for glass and paper. A new project which THWC could call its own was presented in January 1972. This new project was the Shoe Bank and it officially began on May 8, 1972.
Affiliation with GFWC came in February 1972 and Esther Billings took the club under her guidance until her death. Billings became the first Honorary member of THWC. The club incorporated in 1988-89 and recently voted to cut ties with the GFWC in order to concentrate on local projects. The main function of the club continues to be service to the community primarily involving school age children.
Thomas A. Layman, DDS, Family Dentistry
Thomas A. Layman founded his dentistry practice in August 1971 and changed locations in September 1984 to a newly built office located at 2825 South 7th Street. The former building was a rental as the new office, built by Layman using Rick Jenkins as contractor, provided much more square footage for the practice.
Hamilton Center, Inc.
The Vigo County offices of Hamilton Center, Inc. were opened in 1971. This was the result of work from a Regional Planning Committee comprised of citizens in the area to study the need for a community mental health center. The organization was named in honor of Katherine Hamilton, a pioneer and advocate for the mental health cause.
Hamilton Center, Inc. has grown to become a Regional Behavioral Health organization serving central and west central Indiana with offices located in Clay, Greene, Marion, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, and Vermillion counties. The agency provides the full continuum of mental health and addictions treatment to children, adolescents, adults and families. The organization also provides rehabilitation services for adults with disabilities living in Vigo County.
Hamilton Center, Inc. started as a small community mental health center. It has grown significantly since 1971 and now has offices all over the state of Indiana and employs over 600 people state-wide.
Happiness Bag, Incorporated
Founded in 1971 as a touring theater company by Sydney Stowe and Kaye Kale, Happiness Bag, Inc. adapted its name from a Korean tradition. This United Way Center serves disabled children and adults.
North Vigo and South Vigo High Schools
Two new high schools, North Vigo and South Vigo opened for service in September. With enrollments of over 2,000 each, they embody every need for both physical and mental education and are the equal of any high school in the state of Indiana.
Ampacet Corporation's Terre Haute plant began operation in October of 1972. James Doti was the first plant manager. Robert E. McLaughlin has been the manager since June of 1974.
Francis Vigo American Italian Club
The Francis Vigo American Italian Club was organized in 1972 in Vigo County, Indiana by a small group of people of Italian heritage. It is part of the club's purpose to help its members have an appreciation of their heritage as descendants of immigrants and contributions of that heritage to the growth and development of the US.
Terre Haute Miss Softball America
This recreational softball program for girls ages 5-18 was begun in 1972. It has hosted many state tournaments and regional tourneys, has sponsored the Media Slow-Pitch Softball Tourney and the Snow Ball Tourney, and is in the process of building an indoor softball complex. Nick Telezyn is the current (as of 1999) President of THMSA.
Hyte Community Center
Hyte Community Center was opened at Thirteenth and College streets. This social service center marked a large step in the community's appreciation of its black population as funds were raised in part by public subscription from both white and black residents and businessmen. A federal grant of matching funds made its construction possible.
Kirkham Hardwoods, Inc.
Kirkham Hardwoods, Inc. was founded in October 1973. In 1991 massive changes were made such as going from circle mill to band mill and total computerization which increased producation from 5,000,000 board feet to 13,000,000 board feet.
Catholic Charities of Terre Haute
John E. Etling established the Terre Haute office in 1973 which is connected to the Indianapolis R.C. Archdiocese and operates as a non-profit service agency.
December -- Hulman Center, a fine new auditorium seating 10,000 persons opened. It is a joint venture of Indiana State University and the citizens of Terre Haute and other communities in the Wabash Valley. All of ISU's basketball games will be played here but it will also serve the needs of the community for conventions, for theatricals, circuses, ice shows and musicals.
R.E. Anderson & Associates
Richard E. Anderson founded R.E. Anderson & Associates in 1973 and incorporated it in 1974 to offer commercial space planning and design and sell office furniture. The business is located at 1240 Hulman Street.
Wolohan-Powell-Stephenson Lumber Co.
Wolohan Lumber opened in January 1974 in Terre Haute with Dale Kilheffner as the manager.
In May 1997 Wolohan Lumber purchased the assets of Powell-Stephenson Lumber and merged the two businesses together at the current (as of 1999) location at 555 Margaret Avenue. Also in May 1997 the name was officially changed to Wolohan-Powell-Stephenson Lumber Co.
David A. Pressley, DPM - Podiatrist
Dr. David A. Pressley began practice in February 1974. Pressley's specializes in the medical and surgical treatment of foot disorders.
Wabash Valley Animal Hospital
Andrew Pickering, DVM founded the Wabash Valley Animal Hospital on April 14, 1974. The Wabash Valley Animal Hospital at 3004 S. 7th St. is a small animal practice that offers veterinary medicine and surgery. This practice is now a partnership.
Rose Southside Child Care Center Opened
March -- The Rose Southside Child Care Center opened in a new location at 1438 South Thirteenth street, providing working mothers care for their children. The history of the Negro in Terre Haute is a significant index to the total history of this area from its earliest period to now. Many Negro citizens contributed much talent to the community. They are all too often the unsung contributors to the cultural uplift of the community. Many doors have been opened for employment, service and advancement. Much more remains to be done.
First Banks of the Wabash Festival
May -- First Banks of The Wabash Festival held in Terre Haute May 31 through June 9, 1974. More than 4,000 volunteer persons participated in this historic event.
Terre Haute Regional Hospital
St. Anthony's Hospital was founded in 1882 and under the Sisters of St. Francis served the Terre Haute community until 1975. At this time it was taken over by the Hospital Corporation of America and converted to Terre Haute Regional Hospital. Regional Hospital moved to its current (as of 1999) location in September 1979. Regional became a part of the Columbia/HCA Network in April 1995.
Regional Hospital is an acute care hospital with licensing as a 278-bed facility. Some services provided are the Women's Center, the Sleep Disorder Lab, Sports Medicine, Transitional Care Unit, and the Cancer Treatment Center in addition to services normally associated with a hospital such as medical/surgical, radiology, and emergency care.
Brittlebank Park was established in 1975 with funds from a bequest from Julius Brittlebank. It is located on seven acres of land at North 20th and Grant streets. It is a resource of the Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department.
Earl C. Rodgers & Associates, Inc.
Earl C. Rodgers decided to go into business for himself as a professional general contractor after managing other construction companies for 25 years. On May 13, 1976 he opened his business on National Avenue in West Terre Haute. From the beginning, Rodgers wanted to specialize in the design/build concept of construction. This allowed him to create a partnership between himself and the owners. Some of the company's projects include Clay Hamilton Center in Brazil, Honey Creek West, Roselawn Funeral Home and Mausoleum, and the Open Door Bookstore.
Precision Transmission was opened by Bill Aubin and Ron Felty at 1600 Wabash Ave. in 1976. Three years later the partnership was bought out by Bill and Kay Aubin.
The focus of this franchised business is to provide the rebuilding, reconditioning and servicing of automatic and manual transmissions.
Xi Epsilon Psi Chapter X5139 of Beta Sigma Phi
Ten members of the Theta Tau Chapter founded the Xi Epsilon Psi Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi on March 14, 1978. Some things to which Xi Epsilon Psi contributed were the Queen's Ball 1981 and 1994, the Style Show 1986, Bowling 1987 and State Day 1990.
United Church of God
United Church of God was established July 6, 1978 by approximately 80 members of the Worldwide Church of God from congregations in Columbus, Evansville, Indianapolis, Lafayette, Indiana and Champaign, Illinois. The first pastor was Steve Nutzman. The Terre Haute Chapter of the church was formed May 6, 1998 due to concern over doctrinal changes in the Worldwide Church of God when half of the 150 members left.
David M. Giltner, D.D.S., M.S.
Dr. David M. Giltner founded his orthodontic service in August 1978.
Apartment Owners and Managers Association of Greater Terre Haute, Inc.
Yvonne DeLong Avary, Greg Archer, Ren Wright, Bill McDonnell, Bill Price, and Jack Pearcy founded a social and professional organization for rental property owners and managers in 1978.
Koenig Scale Company, Inc.
Clarence Koenig purchased the Toledo Scale Distributorship in 1959, but was required to disassociate with the Toledo name in 1978. His wife Roxine wanted to rename the business, "Foxy Roxy Scale Company," but Clarence held firm in his choice. Upon his death in 1985, Roxine assumed the Presidency, their son Kurt was appointed Exec. Vice President and General Manager. Roxine announced a semi-retirement in 1997.
Leadership Terre Haute, Inc.
Leadership Terre Haute, Inc. was founded in 1978 by Richard Landini, Connie Ratcliff, James G. Backes, Max Miller, Nancy Tarbox, and Alan Rankin. Leadership Terre Haute is a nonpartisan community leadership educational program. The program is designed to identify potential community leaders, assist them in the development of their community leadership skills, and enhance their ability to positively impact the community. Youth Leadership Terre Haute was begun in 1990 and is conducted in cooperation with the Vigo County School Corporation for students. Some programs offered by Leadership Terre Haute include Edibles and Ideas as well as Valley Point of View.
Whiteco Outdoor Advertising
Whiteco Outdoor Advertising began in 1935 under Dean White in Shelby, Indiana serving Holiday Inn with directional signs. The Terre Haute office was founded in 1978 under the direction of Byron Kearby.
Anaconda Park was established by the Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department in 1979. It is located on .5 acres of land at N. 14th St. and Elizabeth streets. The Anaconda Aluminum Company contributed the land and playground equipment to the city.
Laureate Iota, Beta Sigma Phi
Laureate Iota chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was founded June 26, 1979. The main purposes of the social chapter are cultural and service. Major activities are various interesting programs on different subjects.
JoAnn H. and O. Keith Owen, Jr. founded a business in July 1979 for the sale of gasoline and diesel fuel. The John Banks Oil Co. was purchased October 1982 and the business moved to its current (as of 1999) location on First Street.
WilliamsRandall Marketing Communications
Charlie and Donna Williams founded the former C & D Williams Company on October 1, 1979.
Banks of the Wabash York Rite College #72
Banks of the Wabash York Rite College #72 was organized in 1979 and is a fraternal masonic group. This group supports medical philanthropy and educational scholarships in the US and Canada.
Nick Telezyn founded his advertising agency in 1979.
Illiana Truck Parts
Andrew and David Nickel founded this truck sales and truck parts business in November 1980. Andrew became the sole owner in 1989 after a buy-out of shares.
Macksville Station, a custom furniture and cabinet work business, was founded in 1980 as Wabash Valley Furniture Service by Bill Smith, Bob Heck and Andrew McAleese.
McAleese later became the sole owner and the business was renamed Macksville Station. It is located at 601 W. National Ave., West Terre Haute, Indiana.
Michael R. Farr Agency, Inc.
Michael & Nancy Farr founded an investment products and insurance agency in 1980 on Hulman Street, now located in Corporate Square on Ohio Blvd.
Miller & White Advertising, Inc.
Brian Miller founded this creative print & electronic advertising agency in 1980, but also specializes in multi-media and computer graphics.
The Signcenter, Inc.
John B. Criss established a business for commercial and electrical advertising signs in 1980 on 25th Street which has since moved to Fruitridge Avenue.
Terre Haute Convention & Visitors Bureau of Vigo County
A resolution enacted in 1980 by the county council, county commissioners and the mayor created the Terre Haute Convention & Visitors Bureau.
Sanders & Associates
Sanders & Associates was founded by Dan Sanders, architect, in his home on Putnam St. in 1981 to provide quality architectural design for his clients. The office was relocated to 629 Cherry St., and in 1985, to 4312 S. Seventh Street. In 1999, Sanders purchased a home at 611 Deming St. and moved the office into the lower level.
Vigo County Quilter's Guild
The Vigo County Quilter's Guild was formed in 1981 for the development of appreciation of the history of quilting and quilters in addition to promotion of the continuation of this art form in the community.
Westminster Village, Terre Haute, Inc.
A group of concerned Vigo county citizens, comprised mostly of retired school teachers and ISU staff, founded this continued care facility in 1981.
Volunteer Action Center (VAC)
Volunteer Action Center was founded in November 1982 by a committee, most of whose members were on the Board of Directors of Family Service Association. The main purpose of VAC is to serve as a clearinghouse for volunteer services in the Wabash Valley, to mobilize community resources to solve community problems. The VAC assists volunteers in finding volunteer assignments in agencies or organizations serving the community in health, recreation, education or cultural activities. Major projects in which VAC is involved are the Volunteer Fair held in September at ISU and the Golden Rule Awards for volunteers given in cooperation with JCPenny in April. The VAC became a United Way Agency in 1987.
Western Indiana Employment and Training Services, Inc.
W.I.E.T.S. began with the implementation of the Jobs Training Partnership Act in 1983 as the Western Indiana Private Industry Council under executive director Patrick Dougherty who has since been replaced by Lisa Lee.
Construction Aggregate Trucking
Patrick M. O'Leary, President, founded Construction Aggregate Trucking (better known by its initials CAT) in February 1984. This flatbed and dump trucking service's major jobs include Eli Lilly, Lowes Lumber, CSX Railroad, Destec Project, PSI Wabash River Generating Station, and Hulman Regional Airport.
Wabash Valley Harley Davidson
The business opened in February 1984, sold 43 new units by year's end, and sales now reach over 200 units.
Friends of the Vigo County Public Library
The Friends of the Library was organized as a not-for-profit group in 1984 to promote the VCPL as a cultural, educational and recreational asset to the community. The Friends raise money to support the Library in the areas of special events, publicity, programming, furniture and equipment and for any other special needs that arise. Their major fundraisers include an annual book sale and holiday book nook and weekly book cart sales. The Friends group is governed by a 15-member board of individuals from the community.
Vigo County Education Foundation
The Vigo County Education Foundation has been providing funding for special projects in the Vigo County School Corporation since 1984. The Foundation was organized by school board members Charlotte Caldwell, Dr. Iverson Bell, and former Superintendent of Schools Dr. Harmon Baldwin.
Kelly Metal Products, Inc.
Kelly Metal Products, Inc. opened in November 1985 with Lawrence Kelly as President and Robert Kelly as the Vice President of the company.
Edward C. Etchison Council #326, Allied Masonic Degrees
The Edward C. Etchison Council #326, Allied Masonic Degrees was established in 1985 for the purpose of researching masonic history and to keep old degrees alive. The Council is a fraternal masonic organization affiliated with Royal Arch Masons, York Rite and membership is limited to 27 persons.
This portrait photography studio was founded in 1985 by Malcolm and Donna Moore. John Camp purchased the business on April 1, 1995.
Sycamore "A" Region
This club for owners of Ford Model "A" vehicles 1928-1931 was founded by Robert Murphy on March 31, 1986. The club activities include tours, visits to school functions, and displays pertaining to this car.
Microtel Information Systems, Inc.
Microtel Information Systems, Inc. was founded in 1986 by Mark A. Neaderhiser and provides telephone systems and computer networks (Novell) services.
The eight-acre Coy Park, a resource of the Terre Haute Parks and Recreation Department, is located at N. Sixteenth St. and Barbour Ave. It is named for Kenneth Coy who served as president of the Terre Haute Park board
Hoosier Heritage Spinners' & Weavers' Guild
On July 15, 1987 Marti Luzader and Brenda Chaney founded this craft guild to promote the resurgence of spinning, weaving and related fiber arts in Parke County and surrounding areas.
Martin Luther Homes of Indiana, Inc.
The local office of Martin Luther Home Society, Inc. of Lincoln, Nebraska was founded in 1987 and the first manager was Edwina Boyle.
Forest Management Services, Inc.
Larry J. Owen founded this service organization in 1981 in Shelburn, Indiana. The services provided include timber sale management, timber stand improvement, tree planting, pruning, and herbicide application. The business relocated to Terre Haute in 1987 and expanded to a larger location in 1992.
Joseph Realtors, Inc.
Judy Joseph founded a full-service real estate office in July 1988 on 4th Street, but moved the business in November 1990.
Great Wheels, Inc.
David A. Brucken opened a used car "superstore" in 1988 and added a marine sales area in January 1999.
Summerlot Engineered Products
Summerlot Engineered Products was founded in 1988 by Raymond L. Summerlot .
Kitchen Interiors, Inc.
Kitchen Interiors, Inc. was founded in 1988 by Patricia Redenbarger and offers custom cabinetry and design services.
Kessco Water, Inc.
Kessco Water, Inc. was founded in November 1983 by John & Margaret Kessinger in Marshall, Indiana along with their five children - Susie, Debbie, Bryan, John III, and Kevin - and their spouses. The Kessingers opened a business in Crawfordsville in January 1984, another in Lafayette in 1986, and finally one in Terre Haute in 1989.
The Shuck Agency, Inc.
Geoff L. Shuck opened an independent insurance agency on April 1, 1989.
Sam's Club, a division of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., opened a local club in October 1989 under the management of Mike Matheson.
Computer Solution Systems Co., Inc.
Computer Solution Systems Co., Inc., which operates under the trade name of CS Technology Center, was founded in November 1989 by Nicholas J. Mahurin.
The Box Store
The Box Store opened in 1989 under the name of The Box Shoppe and the ownership of Larry Singleton. In 1997 the name was changed to The Box Store.
Wabash Valley Art Guild
Norman Ratliff founded the Wabash Valley Art Guild in the 1980s for fellowship and education for local artists.
TREES Inc. -- Terre Haute ReLeaf Effort for the Environment and Civic Spirit
TREES Inc. was founded in January 1990 by a group of Terre Haute citizens organized by Joy Sacopulas for the purposes of improving the environment, beautification of the neighborhoods of Terre Haute, and to promote civic spirit. 1999 projects include "Adopt-a-Street-Tree" and the "Spring Beauty Campaign - Daffodil Project II."
Terre Haute Sinfonietta "Pops" Orchestra
The Sinfonietta, Terre Haute's Symphonic Pops Orchestra, was founded September 1, 1990 by ISU graduate David McConkey, Director of the Terre Haute Concert Band, and Dr. Earle R. Melendy, former ISU Director of Orchestras and former concertmaster of the Terre Haute Symphony Orchestra. The Sinfonietta was patterned after the Boston Pops Orchestra and all musicians contribute their time and talents without compensation. One of the most popular features of the concerts are the narrators - past narrators have been Mayor Jenkins, Kevin Orpurt, Louis Savage, Dr. Adrian Tio, and Congressman Edward Pease.
The Sinfonietta was honored by the State of Indiana for Community Service by Governor Evan Bayh in 1991.
Popejoy's Music Center
Louie Popejoy's music business opened in 1990. Services offered include the sale and repair of musical instruments, the sale of accessories, and music lessons.
Myers Engineering, Inc.
Myers Engineering, Inc. was founded in 1990 by James D. (Dave) and Robin Myers for civil engineering services and land surveying.
Inland Aquatics was opened in January 1991 by Morgan and Richard Lidster for the sale of tank raised marine animals and aquarium products. Educational field trips and building tours are also offered.
West Central Indiana Chapter of American Ex-Prisoners of War
The local American Ex-POW chapter was founded March 7, 1991 by the national chapter.
IN Eta Master Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi
Indiana Eta Master Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was established on June 8, 1991 by the Laurete Eta Chapter and Beverly A. Light. Eta Master Chapter's activities include listening to many interesting speakers, several programs by members, and many chapter members are volunteers.
Pino's Il Sonetto
Pino's Il Sonetto, a restaurant featuring Italian cuisine, opened July 5, 1991.
Furnas Pet Care
Donald & Janet Furnas founded their business in December 1992 when they purchased a building, moved their grooming business into it and added retail, pet sitting, and a pet taxi service. Janet began visiting area hospitals, schools, and nursing homes in 1992 to promote humane education. Janet began taking small animals into schools and youth clubs as part of the education process in 1997 and in 1998, she and Don began donating small animals for classroom pets to interested teachers.
Construction Technology Associates, Inc.
Richard L. McCowen, President, founded a general contractor business for the design and building of commerical and industrial projects in 1992.
Xi Eta Zeta chapter of Beta Sigma Phi
Barbara Coveleskie established this chapter in April 1993. The chapter's main purposes are social and cultural. The members are involved with community service and do one major activity per year.
Randy and Dale Keyes founded their electrical contracting business in June 1993.
The Great American Carpet Store, Inc.
Wayne R. Gore founded this flooring business on July 23, 1993. In July 1997 a 4,000 square foot addition was built onto the building.
C & E Environmental, Inc.
Eric R. Hettlinger and Cindi L.A. Martin founded this asbestos removal company on December 28, 1994. C & E Environmental, Inc. is owned by a woman.
Associated Design Professionals, Inc.
This business consists of a group of designers with membership in American Society of Interior Design who began their business in June 1994 at Off the Bolt. The major products offered by the business are decorating fabrics, custom window treatments, bed coverings, upholstery, carpet, wallcoverings, and blinds. The major service provided is complete design services for commercial and residential needs.
Johnstone Supply was founded in May 1995.
Hoosier Handpak, Inc.
Bruce Anders and Mike Stoick founded Hoosier Handpak, Inc. in June 1995.
LA Stained Glass
Laura A. Pinkston founded her stained glass business in 1995 and it was purchased September 24, 1998 by Lisa A. Goff. The shop produces stained glass windows, art and/or gift items, and commissioned pieces. Stained glass and mosaic supplied are offered for sale. Classes in stained glass art are offered on location.
Indiana Preceptor Gamma Psi Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi
Indiana Preceptor Gamma Psi Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was founded January 3, 1996. The charter members were progressing and other members of Indiana Xi Zeta Theta Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi (an Exemplar Degree Chapter). Beta Sigma Phi sorority is an international women's social, cultural, and service organization orginally founded in 1931 to provide women with a social outlet, a cultural forum, and an opportunity for service. Beta Sigma Phi is the largest Greek letter women's association in the world. It is not a secret group; Beta Sigma Phi is non-sectarian, non-political and not affiliated with any school or university although there are chapters on some campuses. The organization has members of all ages and educational backgrounds.
Preceptor Gamma Omega Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi
This chapter grew out of the Xi Epsilon Psi chapter and was founded on May 7, 1996. The main Purposes are to promote friendship, cultural and social development. Major activities of the group were State Council Day, State Day, City Council Activities, selected Cultural Programs from the BSP Ala-Carte list, Chapter Socials, and various service projects.
Western Indiana Grotto
This group for cavers was founded in May 1996 and has an affiliation with the National Speleological Society and supports Karst for the Future, a landowners' rights group.
Kamikaze Karate Martial Arts Emporium
Partners Cricket Pardes and Theresa Ortega-Fisher founded this business on October 16, 1996. They provide a martial arts school locator service in addition to carrying supplies for martial arts, weightlifting, boxing, and other types of fitness.
Richard C. Hay founded this computer business in December 1996.
Vigo County Public Library Homework Centers
Vigo County Public Library opened Homework Centers on August 26, 1997 at the Plaza North Branch with two workstations including computers and software through a Literacy Volunteers of America/GTE Foundation Family Literacy and Technology grant. A Homework Center opened at West Branch in the fall of 1998 through a cooperative program with the Vigo County School Corporation. Additional Centers opened at Meadows Branch, South Branch, and the Young People's department at Main Branch through an LSTA grant from INCOLSA.
Engineered Homes, Inc.
Engineered Homes, Inc., owned by Terry Myers, Lee Shipley, and Steve Heck, was begun in October 1997 by Mike Cahill as the result of persons shopping the other modular home operation business who wanted plans that were different and inability of the business to meet the needs of that segment of the market.
HPS Office Systems
HPS Office Systems was originally founded in Indianapolis in 1939. A branch was opened in Terre Haute in November 1997. The slogan of this business is "When Only the Best Will Do."
Uniquely Gourmet, Incorporated
Dr. Kathleen M. Hilton founded this specialty food and gourmet supply store in December 1997. The store offers cooking classes, unique kitchen gifts, and gourmet foods such as coffees, teas, and food items.
Wabash Valley Capital Management, Inc.
James B. Exline, Donald B. Edwards, and Christopher S. Doll founded this organization in 1997.
Creative Buying Specialists
James E. Fox began his creative buying business in January 1998. The primary purchases are cash flow paper, invoices, land contracts, notes, debt investments, etc.
C. S. Lewis Society
Kenneth Michael helped co-found this literary club for the study of the works of C. S. Lewis on February 6, 1998. The literary club meets once a month and hosted a 100th birthday party in honor of C. S. Lewis.
Ambank's local office was opened on April 13, 1998 with Bruce Brown as the manager. The current (as of 1999) manager is Doug Heidorn. The name changed in early 1999 to Union Planters Bank.
Cummins Mental Health Center
Judy Eaton, Director of County Operations, founded the mental health center on June 17, 1998.
Heartland Steel, Inc.
Financing for Heartland Steel, Inc. was finalized June 18, 1998. Harold L. Coker, Jr. is the President & CEO.