Youth Databases

INSPIRE database funding is provided by the Indiana General Assembly.

America the Beautiful
Authoritative information on U.S. states and territories designed for all grade levels. Encyclopedia content updated quarterly; journal information updated weekly, current event information updated weekly during the school year.
Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)

 

Full-text biographical information from a variety of reference sources and magazines. Coverage includes individuals from around the world and throughout history. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents. If you are outside of the library, please access this database through Inspire's Resource List. Under "List of Databases", click the database's name to access the database.
INSPIRE Kids
Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents.
Lands & Peoples
Encyclopedia of countries, cultures, maps, and current events for middle and high school students. Encyclopedia content updated quarterly; and current events updated weekly during the school year.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed for high school libraries, and provides full-text for 600 popular general interest and current event publications with information back to 1975. Also provides 500 + full text pamphlets, 268 full text reference books, 84,606 biographies, 88,463 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents.
Middle Search Plus
Designed for middle and jr. high school research. Provides full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, 84,606 biographies, 88,463 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator and date back to1990. Updated daily.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents.
Primary Search
Primary Search (for elementary school students) provides full text from 57 children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; and full text for over 100 pamphlets.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents.
Student Research Center
EBSCO's Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type—magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

INSPIRE databases are free to all Indiana residents.
World Book Online Reference Center
Contains every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more; with state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed websites & more.