Order of the Eastern Star - Photographs
Dates:  ca. 1940s
Accession Number:  Sm. D.C. 36D
Description: 1 file folder in a small document case
Donor:  Paul Markle


The Order of the Eastern Star (OES) is an adoptive rite of Freemasonry with teachings based on the Bible and objectives that are charitable and benevolent. The founder of OES was Dr. Robert Morris, a lawyer and educator from Boston, Massachusetts, who was a Master Mason and Past Grand Master of Kentucky. Dr. Morris intended his creation to become a female branch of Freemasonry, but he failed to overcome the great opposition this idea engendered. After his first published ritual in 1849-50, he became associated with Robert Macoy who wrote and published a ritual based on Morris' in 1867. The first Grand Chapter was organized in Michigan in the same year. (There is evidence for an organization of the same name founded variously in 1788 or 1793, but this group was defunct by 1867.) Subordinate (local) chapters operate under charter from state level grand chapters which are responsible to the General Grand Chapter at the International Eastern Star temple in Washington, D.C.

Members must be eighteen years or older and either Master Masons in good standing or properly related to a Master Mason in good standing. The latter category includes wives; widows; sisters; daughters; mothers; granddaughters; step-mothers; step daughters; step-sisters; and half-sisters. In 1994 this was expanded to include nieces, daughters-in- law, and grandmothers.

Each chapter has eighteen officers, some elected and others appointed. Two offices are specifically male (Patron and Associate Patron) while nine offices are specifically female (including Matron and Associate Matron). While the Worthy Matron is considered to be the presiding officer of the chapter, the degrees cannot be conferred without a presiding brother in good standing (hence the Patron and Associate Patron).

Each chapter retains the right to decide who shall be a member of the organization. Election to the degrees must be unanimous, without debate, and secret. The successful candidate must profess a belief in a Supreme Being and is initiated in five degrees, which are conferred in one ceremony. (When Eastern Star was created, it was intended to be the first of a three degree series. The second and third degrees were Queen of the South and the Order of the Amaranth, respectively.)

Content and Scope of Collection 

This collection consists of two scrapbook pages with ten identified photographs of nine women and one man.  The donor thought that the pictures were from the 1940s and the hair styles and clothes of the women seem to confirm that time period. 

Obituaries for Clayton, Hudson, Hurst, Larson, Markle and Mason list them as members of the West Terre Haute Chapter 428 of the Order of the Eastern Star.  The obituaries are included in the inventory folder.  Obituaries for the other four women were unavailable.  The names of the ten individuals in the photographs are listed below.


Mabel Bennington






Evelyn Clayton






Besse M. Hudson






Nellie Hurst






Carrie Larson






Mary E. Markle






Floyd Mason






Reva Nicholson






Pauline Pollard






Lessie Whittington